Morwell 2003


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
October 24th 2003
Published: October 24th 2003
Edit Blog Post

24 October 2003
I'm sitting in a Budget Motel in the town of Morwell. Below us, lies one of the largest deposits of the brown coal in the world. The ore is taken from large open cut mines not far from the town. It is then processed and used to feed the furnaces that in turn keep the generators working. In most directions from my motel you can see plumes of clouds produced from the steam that feed the generators. In the evenings at sunset the clouds turn pink and give a surreal effect to the town. I haven't photographed anything on this trip because the weather hasn't been the best.
Churchill is a small community just a few kilometres south of Morwell and work at the kindergarten has been busy for the last two days. This morning's session should be a little easier. My meals since arriving in town have been in the local club, which was in walking distance from my unit.
This will most likely be the last trip away for this company this year. If I decide to continue photographing in pre-schools and kindergartens, I will have to wait until March 2004.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.33s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb