Rister's 30th


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
August 14th 2008
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys,
Life is good down under albeit cold! After coming back from the Lake House we spent the next couple of weeks pretty quiet. Linzi and Grant came over from Adelaide for a weekend which was great- they've just gone back to the UK for Grant's sister's wedding. Plenty of eating and drinking as usual!
We also managed to make it to Sydney to see the All Blacks v Wallabies at the Olympic stadium. Very impressive!
But the highlight of the past month was when I woke up last Thursday. Kellie told me I didn't need to go to work (we often joke about how good it would be not to have to go in.....) and as I thought she was joking I started to get pretty pissed off as she kept saying it. I actually had a pretty heavy day planned so really needed to go in, but she kept saying I didn't need to do in. As you can imagine, by this point its almost full out war as we practically have an argument until finally I get an out of office reply to one of my emails saying that kellie is not in the office today or tomorrow. It was then I realised that she clearly had something planned!
As it turned out Kel had arranged with my work for me to be off Thurs-Fri. I still didn't know what was happening until finally our friends Rich and Elaine turned up with a boot full of booze, food and ski-wear. Yaasssssssssss....a surprise skiing holiday for the 4 of us!
As the hours rolled on though it was clear that the surprises weren't over.
We drove up to Mt Buller, which is about 3 1/2 hours out of Melbourne. I couldn't believe how much snow there was. I was expecting the Lecht! Our apartment was right on the slopes so it was ski in ski out - totally brilliant. Kel then said another 6 folk were coming. Even though I had unloaded the food out of the car (for 10!) I had assumed it was just for us!!!
Cutting a long story short, our friends Ricky and Claire turned up and then about midnight Lee and Tracey rolled in from Sydney. I couldn't believe they made the journey which took about 6 hours.
We spent the next day skiing and then more Huw (colleague from EY) and his girlfriend Wy were the last mates to make it. I was stunned at how many people had made the effort especially as it really is very expensive - as they had a 2 month ski season all the apartments, ski hire/lift passes all has to be made back quickly so the prices are v high.
Anyway, the Sat was my birthday. Kellie bought me a guitar which I had really wanted. I also got vouchers for ski boots (which I was bowled over at) from the poker boys, WAGS and Lee and Tracey and various other gifts. Lee had also kindly brought along a 1980's style ski suit which I had to wear down the slopes (see the pics!). I think secretly lee wanted to wear it but I donned it all day.
Usual rammy at night with beers, dancing etcetc.
All in all the most amazing birthday and one I'll never forget. I thought I was smart organising the Lake House as a surprise but as it turned out Kel got me back big style!
We're now taking a month off the booze to try and get in shape for New Zealand!
Hope all is well.....and speak soon!!! Enjoy the pics!!
Love
Ri x


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb