Wagga Wagga 2004


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
September 12th 2004
Published: August 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, 12 September 2004
It was a wet morning when I said goodbye to my girlfriend on the steps of her unit.
Its been ages since I have left for a country job without booking ahead but could not decide where to stay.
Once I got over the hills near Yea the weather improved and progressively brightened up as the car got closer to the New South Wales border.
I had read all the details concerning this job and wasn't too impressed with the numbers. Families: One-hundred and seventy. Children per day: Sixty-six. All housed in four rooms but that number was over five days I must add.
A new centre in a new suburb of Wagga. Could not find the street name in my New South Wales road directory. Found one street that looked the same and tried that. Turned out to be a nice house on a large property. After asking some locals I eventually discovered the centre ten kilometers from where the nice house stood.
Now I knew where the centre was, it was time to find accommodation. The Budget Motel was my first choice but it was booked out. I found another motel closer to the centre of town. Only sixty dollars per night. Got the key from reception and made my way to my room. There was a MG Sports Car Club staying at the motel. Although they were well behaved they sat outside their rooms talking loudly. I opened the door to my room and was surprised to find it was a little bigger then a "shoe box". (I hear you saying, what do you expect for sixty dollars a night)
Had more trouble finding somewhere to eat and finished up in a hotel being renovated. It looked as if a bomb had gone off in the dining room. I must say the food was good though.
Half way through the night I awoke and it appeared to be morning. When I looked out of the window I realised a large spot light was lighting up the motels car park. The thin curtains, stopped little of the light.
Although the bed was comfortably my sleep was constantly interrupted by late arrivals who talked out aloud as they walked to their rooms.

Tuesday, 14 September 2004
Yesterday and today were very hard days, where nothing seemed to go right. Babies crying as I entered the room. Children not happy having a stranger in their room. Some staff members not happy with the way I tried to organise the rooms. There are too many children for one photographer to do the job properly.

Wednesday, 15 September 2004
It was one in the morning before the noise from a group of teenagers staying a few doors from my room decided they had enough fun for the night and went to bed.
For me, I watched late night TV and packed my gear. I still had two more nights in Wagga and made up my mind I was not going to have my sleep disturbed any more, so will be moving out in the morning.
I had a bad feeling about how I was going to welcomed at the centre because somebody had complained to my boss about how little time I spent with the children in her room. Today I entered each room with a smile and a friendly greeting was given in return. It was if nobody was unhappy with my work. When I left at lunch time I was expecting to receive another phone call from head office but nothing was forthcoming. Because I booked out of the motel this morning, new accommodation had to be found for next two nights. The motel I found was closer to the centre. It was also more expensive but still within my budget.

Thursday, 16 September 2004
I managed to get through another day. I'm told there are about six new children to photograph tomorrow.
This has not been a good trip. Some other things that have happened on this trip would not have normally upset me are as follows. Posted off the exposed films on Tuesday by Express Post. Did the same today, this time I was informed the package may not arrive in Melbourne on the overnight delivery. They didn't mention that on Tuesday.
As usual I always pay for my evening meal by credit card. Tonight at the same pub I was in last night was informed they could not except credit cards.
I must say the motel I'm staying at now is much better and there are no late comers turning up at two in the morning.

Friday, 17 September 2004
Woke up at four in the morning and could not go back to sleep. Been worried about jobs I have been doing lately and think I need a holiday. This was the last morning in town. I payed for my two nights accommodation and drove to the centre.
Six Children, what a joke. I finished up using ten spools of film. Children seemed to be coming out of the wood work. Spent more time trying to get good shots of the very young children without much success.
It was mid-day when my gear was finally packed up and I got into my car and drove south to Melbourne.
After an uneventful drive, I arrived in my driveway just on five o'clock.
Retrieved my mail from my next door neighbor. Put my dirty cloths in the washing machine and finalised my accounting.
My garden is more of a mess then usual. The neighbors are pulling down three large pine trees and they seem to be using my garden as a felling location. Went to bed about eleven and was glad to be home.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb