Warrnambool


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
May 17th 2003
Published: May 17th 2003
Edit Blog Post

4 MARCH 2002
I left Melbourne for my first job for Classic Studios this year. The time was around 7am and for the next four hours I drove down the Geelong Highway onto the Princes Highway and west towards Warrnambool. Just over 300 Klm later I pulled up outside the Best Western Motor Inn. This is one of three such motels in town. Unfortunately I chose the one that was having trouble with their phones. There was still plenty of daylight left so I drove into the main street and took a walk. Thirty-five minutes later I was back in the car having noted there was nothing new to see in the main street. I had been to this town before.

5 MARCH 2002
The alarm went off at 7am and that woke me from a reasonable sleep. Within the hour I was ready for the mornings work at a Kindergarten not more then five minutes from my lodgings. As usual I arrived early and had to wait for the director to turn up. She was friendly and let me organise the morning session to some degree. The children were the most part good natured, although it took more coaxing on my part to get the confidence of a couple of the three year olds. The session was all over by 11am.
This part of Victoria has a rugged coastline and I spent time at "Thunder Point" close to town. Warrnambool also has a maritime museum, which I visited for the rest of the afternoon and took advantage of my new D8 video camera.

6 MARCH 2002
My trips to towns I have already worked in before often leave me bored. This comes about because I have seen many of the sights. Today gave me that problem. After finishing my morning session I returned to the motel and trimmed my films and filled out my daily work sheet then settled down to watch TV. Sent off a message to my girlfriend via my mobile phone telling her how bored I was. A message came back reminding me how lucky I was having a job that only takes up a morning, plus it not boring because every centre has its challenges, each child has a different personality. I get to go to different towns and become a tourist in some town far from home, almost every day. I read her message and turned the TV off, got into the car and took advantage of my good fortune by exploring a bit more of the town.
I found a historic boathouse that had been converted into a restaurant and took some shots. Further along the coast I discovered a walking trail that follows the coast near the "Bay of Islands". In the end I didn't waste the afternoon completely.

7 MARCH 2002
I was in a different Pre-School today and the morning went without incident. It was just after mid-day the gear was packed into the car and I returned to Melbourne.

Images from Warrnambool

Click the address below;

http://www.photoisland.com/servlet/GuestLogin?

Enter;

USERNAME: ewingtonphotos
password: warrnambool

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb