Starting to chill


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
March 9th 2018
Published: March 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday March 7 - Sitting on the decking in glorious sunshine sorting out this little laptop after a morning of shopping, has been so relaxing. Eastlands has certainly grown since I was kid. Had a trip down memory lane to Blackburn Sth and realised that while growing up, Mal and I had been living two streets away from each other! 6 Degrees of separation indeed! Off to the Bruno Mars concert tomorrow night, then a few more days in Melbourne with my little Melbourne Family, before heading to ‘the land of the rising sun’. Still need to pack and unpack my bag a couple of times before I’m totally convinced I have everything.

Thursday March 8 - Bruno Mars concert was amazing! Fireworks, light show, explosions of gold paper, sets that went up and down and of course the man himself! Not even Mal could nod off during this performance. Perfect way to end the day after roaming the streets of Melbourne in glorious sunshine. I know weird huh? Glorious sunshine ALL DAY in Melbourne? But it happened I’m telling ya! We even managed a bit of drama…..Planned to catch to the train into town from Jane’s place as I had a Myki card and Jane had a spare one for Mal. I was assured that they didn’t expire by my experienced public transport traveller Jane however…. On touching said card at the station guess what?? Yep…expired! To be able to travel I would need to spend $50 min for 7 day pass I didn’t need ugggghhhh....

Ok plan B rolled into action (and thank goodness we hadn’t been dropped off) so we drove into the city. Got a park for free where we had been less than 2 hours ago and decided to catch the free tram…..but why wasn’t it arriving when my app said it would?? Decided we 'd start walking down Spring street & catch on the way but instead walked straight into a protest outside Parliament House! Ahhhh….now we know why no tram…police had blocked the street. We ended up walking all the way in to Rod Laver and did the same thing back to the car. Go us! 20,000 plus steps later and one Mal swollen knee (poor Mal), we crept into Jane and Michael’s like a couple of school kids. Gonna oil all their bloody doors for next time!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb