Rod Stewart!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Yarra Valley » Wineries
March 1st 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to March!!

Not long after Kellie and Ryan got here, they texted me one night to ask if we wanted to go and see Rod Stewart with them. Ricky wasn't keen and the tickets were a bit expensive as I wasn't working at the time. So they got tickets, and Caroline and Tucker got tickets, then another couple from England we are friend's with got tickets. Great!

So, a couple of weeks ago I thought I would look on ebay on the off chance there was a ticket going...and there was!! I was well excited, although a little worried about the prospect of being outbid in the last few secs. But I took my chances and I won!! And I only paid $10 more than the original price. Excellent!

We have been taking turns to make dinner every 2nd Thursday and on Kellie and Ryan's turn we had some very exciting Rod chat! Kellie and Ryan decided to camp overnight near the winery where he playing. I was just going to camp with them as Ricky wasn't coming.

The drive up to the Yarra Valley is only about an hour or so, so Ricky just came
Rochford WineryRochford WineryRochford Winery

and the stage in the background
up on the drive as the gig started at 4pm. We met Kellie and Ryan at the campsite and have a wee drink before being dropped of at the winery.

The winery was really small and there was only limited seating (obviously attracted the older ticket buyers!!). I was amazed, it was so small, and not really that secure looking (compared to how it would be if it was at the Barrowlands, or T in the Park or something. It was just a case of rocking up with your picnic rug and picnic and buying a bottle of wine!! Great!

Kellie and Ryan had seating tickets (hee hee!!) and I had a general admission ticket. Through a little scheming, I managed to get into the seating area with them and eventually we were all on our feet!! A bottle of wine and 3 songs later, Kellie and I found ourselves at the very front row belting our hearts. Rod throw a signed football to me and the guy behind grabbed it - then Rod looked at him as if he was out of order, then Rod got another ball and threw it right at me and I caught
Ryan and his eskiRyan and his eskiRyan and his eski

The grapevines were all cordoned off, but how many people stole a grape, do ya think??
it!! I was ecstatic!

Rod was funny, he played all the old time classics and much of the chat was about his family, Scotland and Celtic. 3 things I have in common with Rod!! It was a great gig and I guess you can see how close I actually got to him in the photos and how much fun we had.

Rod Rocks!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

View from the backView from the back
View from the back

of the winery
Kellie and RyanKellie and Ryan
Kellie and Ryan

chillin on the lawn
Suzanne and DaveSuzanne and Dave
Suzanne and Dave

A couple from Liverpool
Rod Rod
Rod

Kellie can quite contain herself!!
KellieKellie
Kellie

givin it all!!
The Green TeamThe Green Team
The Green Team

All the staff had t shirts on saying Green Team on the back - I thought it was funny!
Third changeThird change
Third change

and video footage of the Late Jinky Johnstone
Me and RyanMe and Ryan
Me and Ryan

lovin the wine - it was a winery after all, so would be rude not to have one!
Fourth changeFourth change
Fourth change

Thats a lot of changin!!
Me and KellieMe and Kellie
Me and Kellie

So happy....;)


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb