A Canadian in Australia - thirty days. Day 13 - Bay of Martyrs and Bay of Islands (revisited), Tower Hill Reserve, and Griffiths Island


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Port Fairy
March 11th 2019
Published: March 11th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today I left the Great Ocean Road after ten days. I intentionally took my time and got a great sense of that part of the country, As I left the area I revisited both the Bay of Martyrs and Bay of Islands as their magnificent scenery deserved another look. This was quite the contrast to my next stop - Tower Hill Reserve, with Tower Hill being a dormant volcano showing signs of previous volcanic activity. While there I completed two walks, the two km Journey to the Last Volcano Loop and the shorter Lava Tongue Boardwalk. Unfortunately both were underwhelming. Few signs of significant activity. You could see a small crater and walk around the rim. It looked like a paved circular parking lot. The Lava Tongue Walk as well had a few volcanic rocks on the route but no extensive lava flows. I was somewhat disappointed and probably should temper my expectations. The most interesting thing at the reserve was a emu trying to get into my car. Following this I drove to Port Fairy and completed a walk around the perimeter of Griffiths Island. This is an easy three km hike crossing a number of small beaches, passing numerous

volcanic rock and eventually arriving at Griffiths Lighthouse. The walk done at a leisurely takes around an hour and a half. I then drove back to Warmambool (love these names) for the night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



12th March 2019
Flight of birds

First I was surprisedby the lenght of their tail...but after I figured out it was an art piece!!
12th March 2019
An emu wanted to get too close for my liking

He or she wanted a friend!
12th March 2019
An emu wanted to get too close for my liking

Not my type!

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0801s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb