FIRST WEEK:


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Philip Island
October 29th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On the BeachOn the BeachOn the Beach

Learning where our water comes from and where it goes
FIRST WEEK:

Well Monday we got up early and took mom to the bus stop. It was hard I actually cried when she left. That last familiar thing in my life was being taken away. We went back to Lauren’s house and I laid down for awhile before getting up and getting ready for my first day of school.

Once at school I quickly picked up on a few differences:
~The first graders do not use text books, and pretty much everything is taught on levels. For example: Grade one and two are all give a spelling test at the beginning of the year and based on the results of this test determines what spelling group they are in. So Monday through Thursday I have a different group of students for spelling. There is only one girl from my normal class in there.
~ About an hour after school starts the students are allowed to have a fruit break. This is where they are allowed to bring in a piece of fruit to eat during class. Then not much more then an hour after that the school has recess. All grades go to recess at the same time.
Time to eatTime to eatTime to eat

Between fruit break, play lunch, and lunch all these kids do is eat.
There are two different play grounds and they share one grass and paved area. They are allow to eat during this time is they want to. Then about an hour and half after that they go to lunch. There is a 20 minute eat time and the rest of the time they can play. Again all grades do this all together. Most of the students bring their lunches to school. There is a Canteen where they can by lunch or get extras.

On Monday afternoon I went with Lauren’s class to the local Retirement Home across the street from the school. The third grade classes take turns going over and doing different activities with the residents the on Monday afternoons. This is where I am going to be doing my community service project. On Tuesday at Two O’clock I am going to be going over to the home and doing crafts and different things with the residents there.

Let me see what else did we do this first week: Oh yes I went on an excursion with my students. The grade ones and grade twos went to Inverloch to a small park to learn about water conservation. Victoria
"Fishin" for Rubbish"Fishin" for Rubbish"Fishin" for Rubbish

What kind of FISH is that?
is currently at a level two restriction with water. They got to do different activities and watch an old time carnival show.

I went with a few other teachers to the local YMCA one day after school. It cost 13 dollars to work out in the gym. I was a little taken back by that. I found out very quickly that the cost of living is higher here, but even more so, because the Island is seen as a tourist attraction. For example: If you ask for ketchup one they may not know what you are asking for (so then ask for tomato sauce which doesn’t taste the same). Then secondly they will probable will charge you for it. I have seen is cost up to $.40 per pack. Yes that is a pack like you get at McDonalds. WOW!!!

Anyways The highlight of the week was that we had a little get together at Lauren’s Friday night. It was a little going away party for the two Canada teachers. We first went to a restaurant called text-mex. It was the best food I have had since we got here. (in case you wanted to know $5 for
Save water hikeSave water hikeSave water hike

How many wyas can you find to save water?
a chicken taco and $7 for a Bottle of Budwiser) I had the chicken taco but not the BUD. We then went back to the house where we played a few drinking games and then sang so Karaoke. It got a little load but it was fun. We finished the night with a board game called pass out. My drink of the night was VB (Victoria Bitter) It is in a stubby bottle.

Well it’s been a interesting full week, I hope you all are well and I miss you! Write soon.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Normal PeopleNormal People
Normal People

Jack and mel the teachers from Canada
Sing itSing it
Sing it

It was a crazy night
Jesse!Jesse!
Jesse!

Lazza I think you lost your bed.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb