Getting Settled in:


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Philip Island
October 26th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Getting Settled in:

So it’s been awhile since I last wrote. I don’t have the internet at the house I’m staying at so I have to do all of my e-mailing and stuff during my lunch. Well let me start off where I left off.

The train ride back into Melbourne went a lot smother. Once in Melbourne we caught a train to another near by town. This is where Lauren (the girl I’m staying with) picked us up at. We had another hours drive back to the Island. It was odd riding in the front o the opposite side of the road. Even more disturbing was the driving down the wrong side of the road. Anyways once on the Island we stopped by Lauren’s house and dropped off our luggage. She then took us down to the school. It was recess time so Elinor (the grade one teacher I am teaching with) had to of the girls take me on a tour. The school is divided into 5 building. The first building is the office, library, IT room teachers lounge, and three classrooms (one grade 5 room, and two grade 6 rooms). The next building is the art room it is a small wood cabin structured building that is also used for after school care. The third building houses two rooms of preps, two rooms of grade 1, three rooms of grade 2, and one room of grade 3. This building also is where students go for reading recovery. The fourth building houses another room of grade 3, two rooms of grade 4, and one grade 5 room. The final building is the gym that has a side room for music. The buildings are sat in a square format that has a paved area for playing in the middle. There is a walk way between to of the buildings that opens up unto the oval which is a large grass area and playground equipment.

After my tour I went into the classroom and sat with the grade one class. The introduced themselves to me and I talked to them a little about Indiana. While the class when to library my mom and I sat and talked with a few of the teachers and the principal about Indiana and where we had been so far in Australia. When lunch time started Lauren and Gorgie took us to Subway and then drop us off at the house.

That evening we went out to eat with Gorgie and her boyfriend (Jesse), Elinor, and two teachers from Canada Mel and Jack.


SATURDAY and SUNDAY:

Saturday was a ruff day for me. I think that all my emotions and fears hit me all at once. I woke and really didn’t feel like getting about of be and facing the uncertainty. I pulled myself together so I thought and got up out of bed. Lauren, mom and I got up and took Iggy for a walk. We got to see the main strip as I would call it. While we ate lunch Lauren told me that it was okay to talk to her if there was anything wrong. That is when I lost it. She asked me what was wrong, but I think for the first time in my life I honestly didn’t know why I was crying. My emotions had taken me over and I didn’t know what to think. It was hard, but I made it through and well that’s that.
Lauren took us to this place called the Nobbies. (That is where the ocean pictures are from) It was calming to see all the waves crashing on to the rocks; it gave me sometime to just walk and clear my head. My mom and I also went and saw the Penguin Parade. It was cut and FREEZING! There so tiny and amazingly smart animals. Sorry they don’t allow pictures there. They say it scares the penguins. If this is true then how did they get pictures of them for all the items they are selling in their little gift shop? Answer me that! Okay so I’m a little upset about it. LOL


Advertisement



31st October 2007

Hang in there
Heidi, I finally sat down to read your entries. Sounds like you are on the adventure of a lifetime. I didn't realize things were so expensive there. I know it must be scar being away from all your family and friends, but hang in there. Just remember that when things look impossilbe, that it is just a temporary thing. In a few months it will all be over and you will be back home in Indiana. Just ake one day at a time and enjoy it. I will enjoy checking in on you every now and then. Love ya, Brenda Skiles

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb