Metung!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Metung
January 17th 2010
Published: January 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thursday night Chris’ brother and sister in law come over for a few drinks and just to catch up and what not. His brother is awesome, he SURFS!!! And his wife is absolutely lovely! They have 4 children that goes to the same Peninsula Grammar Jay will start at 1st February (THANK THE LORD). Apparently Chris’ brother was one of the most successful investment bankers in Australia and he is now retired, at the ripe old age of 44. Their house, is bananas. It is bigger than my high school and its 6 floors. One floor is Sue’s closet, aka her dressing room, and it’s pretty well stocked, don’t mind if I do. So jay and I head to Metung. They booked us first class and we lost the reservation # so we had to buy new tickets and we were in like general seating and lets just say I am VERY thankful to be taking the train back to Melbourne by myself (Jay will be riding back with his grandparents on Monday to met me at home in Mount Eliza. The train was overly packed and jay of course had oodles of energy and had to be the most annoying person in the universe for 3 ½ hours straight.
We get to Metung and we’re picked up in a Bently. And we’re taken to this BEAUtiful town on a lake .. it’s sort of like a coastal inlet (Is there such thing?) and oh I could just eat it up… its like up north MI only a bit more tropical. Or something. And its much like the Hamptons - although Ive never been I’ve seen pictures .. - and Jay’s grandparents last name is virtually Hampton/McMillan (is that hotel chain linked to that place in NY?) well you’ll see in the pictures. They own and run (well not any more ppl do that for them) a holiday resort and it’s the McMillans of Metung Resort and oh my goodness. It takes up more than half the town - with a population of a mere 600. Words cannot describe this little wonder. And their HOUSE. Deserves its own 3 page description. It is by far the most lovely and magnificent house I have ever stepped foot in and ever even seen. Not to mention the slew of boats. And Johyn’s amazing cooking abilities! Yum!

This 5 year old is really starting to get on my nerves. And its changing my thoughts on having children to possibly adopting after the annoying ages of … ? anywhere after 5 but I guess all kids can be annoying on occasion. He climbs all over me and bumps into me and runs into me and steps on my toes and knocks the wind out of me ALL THE TIME. And just about every time he touches me I am physically hurt. I honestly have bruises everywhere from him. And he grabs at my boobs at least 3 times an hour. And no matter what I do or say or anybody else does or say to him he doesn’t stop and sometimes it really hurts. And he tugs at my clothes. This kid is a different bread. Please have said that maybe it is because his mother had breast cancer and she was always taking about it or dressing her scars and what not. Whatever the case he does it all the time and when we are in public and people just stare like whaaat is going on. Because I clearly look nothing like this blond haired, blue eyed, fair skinned 5 year old boy. He plays too much Xbox and wants me to watch, I’d rather scrape my nails on a chalkboard. We also play super heroes quite often and its alright the majority of the time except for when he tells me I don’t play as good as he does ☹ wah. Tonight is the first night he has gone to bed at a decent hour, 9.30. Before he had been going to be past midnight, but he would sleep in until midday so it wasn’t bad, but it isn’t good for him.
But other than all that - I just adore him. Tonight he dressed up in my dress and put his grandmothers lipstick and shoes on and ran around the house and sang and danced while I kicked my feet up and played the photographer.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb