PUffing Billy Train Ride and Tour of City


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
February 9th 2017
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -37.8143, 144.963

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 9

We got noticed that our excursion was changed from 9am to 10:30am. Meet at the Pier. Glenn and I had a relaxing breakfast in Versailles. Even though it was a very HOT day, I wore my long black pants since my legs hadn't completely healed. But they looked so much better.

We boarded a Grey Line tour bus to take us through a quick tour of Melbourne. I especially liked the unique architect in the city. Very strange and unique buildings. The tour took us about 1 hour outside of Melbourne to the country side to a rain forest and a old steam engine train. I constantly thought of my grandson, David, who loves Thomas the Train. This was just like Thomas the train. The seating was very primitive, yet open air. There were about 20-15 separate train cars. The ride was beautiful as we saw lots and lots of monkey tree plants. Lots of ferns too. I was able to buy a souvenir spoon real quick and several post cards. I don't know when I will mail the cards, though.

The tour took us back to our boat as we arrived around 3:30pm. All aboard time was 4:30pm.
Glenn checked his email at the coffee shop, and I came on up to the room. We went down for the 5pm dinner to sit right at the end of the boat. We were hoping to see the "sail away". The captain kept announcing for 2 people who had not shown up to the ship. Finally at 6:15pm, we pulled away. There was a tug boat attached to us as we made our way through the narrow channel out to the strait.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb