El Casa del Nicoli...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
July 10th 2011
Published: July 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Finally, I have moved into my house and no longer have to face the prospect of re-packing all of my stuff to move somewhere else in another week's time. It is bliss I tells you, bliss!

I got here Friday night after dropping my bags off that morning, and met Susha again, and Stu, the guy whose room I was having. His mum had decided that it wasn't right to leave my to get a duvet cover (note: in Australia, duvet's are called doona's. Why? I really have no idea...) and sheet on my first day there, so earlier that day had not only bought me some but also made my bed for me - awesome! We went off to the local and I met some of their friends and decided unpacking was definitely a Saturday chore. I also made it to Ikea on the Saturday and spent today putting up a desk and bookcase, which I shall endeavour to fill as fast as I can read books and buy more.

My room is lovely and big - just look at the pictures! And the balcony is grand too - I made myself sit out there with a pie (mmm, they do great pies here... after much debate I settled on beef, cheese and bacon) on Saturday, but it is still so cold here that it may be some time before I can properly enjoy it. Thankfully my room has a heater...

I had an interesting week - I got told Monday that the company is being bought by the people who make the system I work on, but it's all good, they are still happy to sponsor me and it actually gives me better opportunities when I do return to the UK. Phew!

One of my few souvenirs, a beer/stubby holder, now sits on top of the bookcase, looking at me with that kind of look that begs me to tell it when it will once again have a beer placed inside it to keep my hand warm while I drink an ice cold Hahn, Tooheys or Pure Blonde. Soon, my pretty, I promise... soon...! My boomerang has been hung above my door so I can see it when I am lying in bed and be reminded that, despite the cold, I am in fact in Australia and not England. Roll on the summer - I am told it can hit 40C at times, but my room also has air con as well as that heater... 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb