MCG - The Boxing Day Massacre


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
December 26th 2010
Published: December 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Boxing Day at MCG 84000 + crowd 10 secs

The Boxing Day Massacre at the Melbourne Cricket Ground



This was a day that I'd listed as one of the main events of my trip.

It's a stunning stadium as I hope my little video clip will let you appreciate. I've been in alot of great stadia around the world but this one is up there. Sadly the atmosphere was lacking (no doubt due to the Aussie performance) but I can imagine what it could be like. I've been told it's better when the AFL final is there... that sport that looks like a cross between netball, long shooty in and all in wrestling.

Unfortunately, the Aussie performance was the worst ever first innings score at the MCG ... oh well at least I witnessed history.

Thanks Bruv and Sister in law for the ticket.... that's another one ticked off my list.



Advertisement



31st December 2010

You lucky, lucky guy!
Well, I missed this - switched on to Radio 4 in the morning at 7:30 and listened, stunned, as they explained what had happened overnight. Probably a once in a lifetime - or certainly generation - event. The closest I can compare it to would be Headingly 1981. Some day I hope we'll get to see something nearly as good! I'm guessing it's about 5:30 a.m. on NYD - so you're probably not up at this stage... unless you still are! Hope you're having a good time and that more postings follow.
2nd January 2011

Cheers Chris. Yes I'm enjoying things so far not least the weather, shorts and t-shirt from morning until bedtime. The updates will be a bit of a mish mash of touristy/sporty and probably (when I remember my camera) pubby (if that's even close to being a word). Anyhoo enjoy.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb