Exploring Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
April 16th 2006
Published: April 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

3 Snorers and a smelly boy. And that doesnt include me. I guess I've drawn short straw on the dorm buddies this time.

For Easter sunday I was up and out obscenely early, and made my way up to the Queen Victoria Market in the hope that it would be open - and it was. There was a load of stalls selling random clothing like any market, but of more interest was the large number of meditteranean (mainly Greek) deli stalls. Apparantly Melbourne has the highest Greek population outside of Greece, and has the 3rd highest Greek population of any city (including those in Greece!).

I next went down to Foundation square to check out the Australian Centre for the Moving Image (a great film cinema - mainly historical and artistic works) and the Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia (an impressive Australian art collection). I then went for a stroll in the botanical gardens before heading back to meet up with Melanie and Jeremy. They took me down to St Kilda for a sunset beer which was beautiful! We grabbed a Seafood Marinara before heading back to Melbourne city.

I had tickets to see Ross Noble, so I went to this and had an absolute hoot. THe show was very random, and picked up on some interesting points about Australia and Australians - so much the better for being presented by a brit. It also served to highlight how appaling Christina Davis had been last night!

Ross Noble - Randomist


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Wireframe GiraffeWireframe Giraffe
Wireframe Giraffe

Looks CG, but its actually a real statue


19th April 2006

hi
Hello how is it going? Me and my friend emma want to do this when we're older! any way have a great time!

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb