Cold Humour


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
April 15th 2006
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Looking out of the plane window I realised that people werent kidding about Melbourne weather. Long trousers, fleeces and even the odd wolly hat were evident in the Airport groundcrew - so on leaving the plan I braced myself for the worst. But the worst didnt come. It really wasnt that cold. When I reached the city itself... the same again. I'm sure even in London in winter people don't wrap up like this - down jackets, scarves, huge overcoats. What's going on? Im walking amongst these people in shorts and a shirt. I mean, yeah, it's cooler that Sydney. But its still not really cold.

I was lucky to arrive in Melbourne during the International Comedy Festival.

The first show that I went to watch was a sketch show call "You say Potato; I say Die". It failed to amuse me for the most (although much of the audience were in stitches) but there were a few very clever sketches. The Frankophote Aussie protesting about being expected to speak a useless language such as French, yet speaking of cliches and deja vous was very clever. Perhaps more relevant to my trip and so true to life was the Lonely Planet restaurant reviewer talking to the restauranter. "Tatty decor, awful food, rude staff and questinably hygiene, yet not without its charms. 10/10". Those who use the LP will appreciate the sentence... and those who follow its advice will appreciate the response - "you can't print that review... now my restaurant will be filled with f*cking backpackers!".

The next show I went to see was Christina Davis in "The Secret Diaries Of 'Unnamed' Fraser". Having appeared on Australias big brother Christina is something of an F list celebrity (apprantly) and it seems that her career in comedy is not going to take her any closer to the A List. The gig was in the 'wee' room of the Melbourne Town Hall - which seats only 32 paying customers. The format of the show was readings from Christinas childhood diaries. If she had just read from the diaries without trying to be funny it would have been quite an interesting show. However it did not in this instance create a great comedy platform, and at times I felt quite embarrased for her. She obviously did have some of a comics quick wit tho, and I think normal standup might have seen her perform a bit better. Better luck next time!

I met some new friends at the gig - Chloe, Melanie and Jeremy from Singapore who took me out to sample the bizarre asian phenomenon of 'bobble tea' which partners cold tea and starch 'bobbles'. Bizarre, but not altogether bad.

You say Potato; I say Die
Christina Davis

Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 89; dbt: 0.1003s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb