Earthquakes, sad goodbyes, and more wildlife...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
March 6th 2009
Published: March 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well.. I just said goodbye to my mom, which I will say was likely one of the saddest things I';ve done since being in Australia. I really loved her and Dale here the past few weeks, and am already looking foward to going home to see them again. Thanks for everything you two. 😊

In other news, last night I experienced my first "earthquake" it was a little tremor really, but it scared the living hell out of me. Well I think it did to everyone that was in the house. (which I will say was made up of myself, Kevin, Libby, Libby's parents and Mom and Dale) We were all sitting there watching the grand sport of Australia "footy" and then the whole house started to shake like crazy for about 15 seconds. We all just looked at each other and said "did you feel that too?" It was insanely bizzare, and of course none of us had ever been in that situation before so we all just sat there petrified for a minute. We quickly came to the conclusion that is was indeed an earthquake, which was later confirmed by the news. CRAZY!!

In the past few weeks we've kept busy by showing mom and Dale around town (and Victoria) We made our way down the great ocean road, where indeed mom saw many kanga's, koalas (naming a koala Jerome actually) and many exotic "flaura and fauna" It was an amazing trip, with fabulous accomadations amount the heat and ocean backdrop. We enjoyed a lovely fresh seafood dinner one night, had plenty of beers and wine, and Kevin was the best driver in the world! ( he patiently went "roo" hunting with us nightly so mom could see a kanga in the wild!) The highlight of the trip for me personally however was walking into the ocean on my birthday (March 1) It was unreal that I Shannon C Sweeney was walking in the OCEAN on my birthday. Normally I would be bundled up fighting off the last cold spout in Edmonton. I was extremely happy, although was feeling a little sick, as we'd done the really twisty turny driving only moments before!

Fast foward to the evening, and I met up with Libby, where we went down to the Sydney Road Festival. Basically a big street party where they close it off to traffic, and you just wander up and down looking at different vendors, musicians and stores. We had some drinks at a bar, that was playing great music, and then we headed home picking up pizza and garlic bread en route!

Last week was mainly showing mom and dale the rest of Melbourne, including a bar tour of all the "back alley" pubs and bars that Melbourne is famous for. Most places you need a local to show you around, so we had our host Libby showing the sites, which included dumpster jumping to find the door of the bars! Fun indeed.

I also went to the Coldplay concert here which was GREAT!!! Fabulous light show and video. Great music. clearly a band to see again!

We spent the rest of the time shopping and hanging around, just relaxing. I'm extremly sad ( as mentioned above) that it is over with momma now, but it just means I'll be home sooner than later as I'm half way through my trip now.

I should go now as my internet time as usual is running out, I PROMISE to post photos soon, I just need to get my camera charged!

Miss you all tons. Love you all (have a safe flight mom! i love you )

xoxoxo
Shan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb