Countdown to Australia!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
November 7th 2009
Published: November 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

London - Melbourne


HeathrowHeathrowHeathrow

Boarding my flight at Heathrow, on my way back to Australia
This countdown clock started on 26th Janurary - Australia Day - at: 276 Days 16:02:00

00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS




Wow, I started the timer above in the beginning of the year, 26th January in fact, Australia Day, I have waited all year but finally, finally I’m heading home. The timer which began with 276 days remaining is now down to 3 days as I frantically pack and get everything ready for 2 months travelling down under. I have thrown in the job, am completely free and ready for excitement and adventure. It’s this feeling I have at the moment which makes me love travelling so much, total freedom and excitement.

We have been quite organised for this trip so far, we have most of our accommodation booked and paid for, as well as many expensive extras and all our flights. I had booked return flights over 6 months in advance after following prices for months to get the cheapest deal. Now after 10 months waiting I’m packed and ready to go.

Hannah drove me to Heathrow this morning for my 11:30 flight stopover at Hong Kong. After a little bit of shopping and a quick breakfast I gave Hannah a kiss and said goodbye as I went through security and customs and headed for my gate. The first flight went for 10:30 hours before I reached Hong Kong. It was a very long flight which I spent watching various movies but overall wasn’t too bad. Once I arrived in Hong Kong I had around 2 hours before I boarded my next flight into Melbourne. I grabbed some food then found my gate and had a brief nap while waiting to board. Eventually I was on my way home. It was another 9 hour flight, most of which was spent sleeping until we landed in Melbourne late on Sunday 8th November. I rushed off the plane, went through immigration and after collecting my luggage headed out to meet my family who were waiting. It has been over 18 months since I last saw them and it was great to finally catch up.

Accommodation:
Family




Advertisement



Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb