Looneys and Mooroopna


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
December 14th 2007
Published: December 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dear All,

Not much happened for the last two weeks in Sunny Melbourne but at least I got a job!! I am leaving on Sunday and going to a town named Mooroopna you can have a look at it on Wikipedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mooroopna
as per Wikipedia this is what we can all call a shithole but actually it's a 1km away from Shepparton which is a city of 45.000
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shepparton
So it's not too bad and it is just 2 hours from Melbourne. I will pick apricots I know it won't be that easy but I have a few things I will think about while working:
Money
If I work 3months doing this I can stay a 2nd year in Oz (my number 1 thought)
I will have a nice tan (have to buy sunscreen)
I can eat healthy by stealing apricots every day (don't think it's a good idea though)

Must admit though these last few days have been quite tough, all the roomates I knew are now gone and the new ones can barely speak English and laugh everytime I say something seriously would you laugh if I say I am French or if I tell you I've been in Oz for just a few weeks?? I know I can be funny sometimes but not by saying this!

Sharon and I met a horrible Welsh guy last week in his forties, don't remember his name (like I care about this) and Sharon told me he was from Swansea. I have nothing about Welsh guys in their 40's travelling by themselves but what I really don't like is a guy who is around 40 behaving like he was 10 by putting everyone down and to critic everything when he opens his mouth. For example when Sharon was just boiling water for the rice he was telling her she can't cook!! One night he wanted to cook curry for us and he was coocking when Sharon came to the kitchen and it was my turn to be put down by him. The worst was I wasn' t there so when Sharon told me I told her I wouldn't eat with him Sharon didn't either but he was waiting for us and the bottle of wine I bought was in the kitchen! After a while Sharon went downstairs took the wine without being seen. The morning after that guy saw Sharon and she told him she doesn't want to see him anymore, he told her he can't even remember what he said about me.

He is not the only Looney Sharon and I saw though. One evening we went to Fitzroy and took a walk over there to find a nice place to eat. During our lovely walk we have met a guy yelling on the street saying he was a nice man, then he looked at us and saying something women then took the tram. You would think it would have been the first and last time we saw this guys. Well no as we walked up the street he was walkind down the same street and offered us to have a bite at his doughnut, told us he was joking, smiled at us and walked away. Then we saw an old couple asking us for some change, then we saw the man again at the Tram Stop asking us for money so he can call his wife and she is going to kill him as he's been a bad man, I bet he's been unfair but that's just my opinion. And finally on the Tram we saw the woman who wasn't with his man, crying and talking to herself.... she was very drunk and sounded very upset, a man came to her and talked to her and calmed her down, bless him.

Right that's it for now, I have a fixed address now if you want to send me a letter (Grazyna I will email it now to you 😊 ), feel to send me a message and I will give it to you!!

Take Care

Amelie

P.S Pictures will be posted tomorrow.









Advertisement



14th December 2007

Apricots!
Apricots are so worth a 2nd year in Oz!!!!!!! Sounds ace!
17th December 2007

congrats on your new job ;)

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb