Afternoon at Eddies


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
September 2nd 2007
Published: October 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Our Sat night out wasn't quite as drunken as it otherwise might have been - not least of all because we wanted to be hangover free the next morning!

During the week, Eddie & Bernadette kindly invited us over for Sunday dinner - the first proper home cooking we had had in about 3 weeks!

Eddie picked us up from our apartment at about 1pm and drove us out to suburbia and gave us a wee tour of his local area. It really is just like how I remember Neighbours!

It was a fantastic afternoon weather wise - so we sat out the back with a beer. Eddie keeps canaries in his back garden - I was also determined to find a poisonous spider for some peculiar reason - perhaps so I could prove to myself that I wasn’t really terrified of finding one?! Non were to be found - maybe had I started looking under stones etc, but wasn’t going to do that!

But, what I did notice were a lot (like a serious lot) of small planes flying over Eddie’s house. A quick look at the Melways (the Melbourne street directory which is as think as the London phone book) explained why - Moorabbin airport was only about 2kms away. I asked Eddie a bit about it - he knew that it was used by small planes, but had never actually been there. Eddie very kindly offered to give me a run down and have a look round - so we did!

It turns out the airport is massive. It has 12 runways, 8 different flying schools, at least 2 aircraft sales places and literally hundreds of privately owned plans sitting about. We popped into the first flying school - I didn’t get a particularly good feeling about it - but they pointed me in the direction of the Royal Victorian Aero Club - which was our next stop. Here I met Matt, one of the flying instructors. He was finishing for the day and, in fact, for ever as he was moving to Malaysia to try and find a job a couple of days later - but he suggested we go for a beer in the bar (yup, the flying club has a bar!) and have a chat about the different options. Two beers later and I reckoned it was probably about the best option out of the eight other places. Problem being, not having a car, Moorabbin isn’t ideal to get to from the city - would be a train then a taxi ride. No problem said Matt - and offered to sell me his car for $1,500 (as he wouldn’t need it after a couple of days). I took one look at it - and decided I wouldn’t give him $15 for it - I have no idea what it was, but it looked as though it belonged in the transport museum in Glasgow. I suspect I’ll be back at Moorabbin before very long!
We went back to Eddie’s where Bernadette just about had dinner ready. Also, Claire’s other cousin, Elaine and her boyfriend “boo” (Steven - don’t ask) had arrived. Another Australian family member for Claire to meet!

Dinner was absolutely amazing, a traditional Sunday roast dinner complete with a few really nice bottles of wine - Bernadette is a fabulous cook - first time I have ever had pumpkin (which is very common here - and not just for putting candles in at Halloween and throwing the rest away!).

After dinner we drank some more and I even managed to have a webcam conversation with my Dad (10 out of 10 Dad for working out how to use the thing!) but, given I was starting work the next morning, decided 10pm was about the limit!
Michael and Michelle really kindly drove us back into town.

That’s what Sunday afternoons are for - great company, great food, great wine and generally chilling out - heres to loads more of them while we are over here!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb