Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
March 15th 2007
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Usually I update my blog after I leave somewhere, but today its the 19th March, so Dad and I thought we'd let you know how the Grand Prix was.
Collecting Dad from the airport was brilliant. Even though we speak to each other at least once a week, we still found loads to talk about, so it was quite a late night!
The next morning I dragged Dad along on a neighbours tour, but he atually enjoyed it. We went to Eringsborough High, and Ramsey Street and the highlight was meeting Alan Fletcher aka Karl Kennedy. Tonight we're going to a Neighbours night in St Kilda for a quiz, but I don't think dad will be much help! We also get to meet some more stars of the show there.
We then decided to go and check out Albert Park in preperation for the race. Qualifying was due to start, and we couldn't exactly walk away so we bought tickets! Having never been to a Grand Prix I had no idea how loud the cars would be - I soon found out!!
It was fantastic and it gave us a chance to check out the best spot for viewing on Sunday, which was definatly worth it because we sat on corners 9 and 10 which probably was the best place to watch the race from.
We arrived on race day just before the gates opened at 7.30am and considering the race didn't start until 2, the time went very quickly because there were lots of other car races and air displays to watch.
The wierdest thing though was that sat behind me was a friend from Sydney, and then I bumped into someone who was on the Great Ocean Road tour - considering there were 105,000 people there, I would say that is pretty good!
I am now hooked on the Grand Prix, as long as I have my ear plugs!

Watch this space for the rest of what we do in Melbourne.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb