Ice hockey in Australia?!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
July 23rd 2010
Published: August 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I've been making my way around Melbourne working here and there at a few temp jobs that are only for 2 or 3 days a week. It's keeping me alive here but i'm still trying to get full time hours which are only 37.5 here instead of our 40 hours. I went into the city the other day and went to the mall in town called Melbourne Central. There is an old building that instead of ripping down they have just built the mall around. Pretty interesting and now stores are inside the building as well.

I spent an hour or so at Borders which is like Chapters. On the friday Leahanne had the day off so we went shopping at the factory outlet mall. I needed a pair of nicer shoes for interviews here and for going out. So, I bought myself a really hot pair of heels that I can actually walk in, after some practice haha. They are bronze crocodile skin print point toed heels. Gorgeous! On the weekend Leahanne's brother came over and the three of us headed out for a night on the town. I wore my new shoes. We had a really great night and we danced a bit. It's been a while since I had such a great night out.

The next day Leahanne and I had tickets to the Melbourne Ice hockey game. There is a small Australian league here. Melbourne was taking on the team from Newcastle. They just built a new indoor ice rink facility here called the Icehouse. One rink is for recreational skating and the other rink is for hockey. We got our wristbands and headed inside. They only have seats on one side of the rink but it ended up being a sold out crowd.

I saw lots of NHL jerseys, however not for very good teams hahaha (Florida, Edmonton, Toronto...need I say more?) But that was cool. It was great to see some hockey again. There were a few Canadian guys on both teams so that was cool. Melbourne has their own theme song which is quite terrible. It's kind of set to the Vanilla Ice song Ice ice baby. Hahaha. Entertaining.

It was an entertaining afternoon but for amateur hockey it costs $20 a ticket. Pretty pricey but it was cool to see. And I got to introduce Leahanne to a very Canadian sport!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



10th August 2010

GO FLAMES!
Laurene, You need to have your Flames jersey with you. Neat pictures of the old building in the mall.

Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb