Have you ever. Ever felt like this? When strange things happen....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
April 25th 2009
Published: April 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Are you going round the twist? (more on that story later...(
I have arrived!
I could just leave it there, but i've had some pretty wicked days here, so i guess i should tell all about them.
In order I suppose...
So I left Christchurch, it was pretty cold and miserable there so I was glad to leave. Met a couple of dutch people on my shuttle bus who were flying to Sydney on my flight. I was pretty knackered and sure I confused the hell out of them with my random ramblings, but they stuck with me so I can't have been too odd. I got put right at the back of the plane, which sucked, Quantas don't do random upgrades on check in, and the flight from C.Church to Sydney was full so I got stuck as far from the screen as possible. Still watched the movie (Frost/Nixon) which was pretty good I thought.
For my next flight (from Sydney to Melb) I tried getting moved forward, which worked, but it wouldn't have mattered because we had our own lil' screens. Only mine froze just after take off, so I guess that'll teach me (again!!) not to mess with my seat placement (see en route to india blog).
I didn't really understand the Tram system, and asked for help with buying a ticket...to which I was just advised to not buy one and play dumb to the ticket inspector, who wasn't even likely to get on. So I did just that (just the once).
I arrived at Base and was given my key....walked upstairs with all my stuff, only to find that the only bed that was spare...didn't have a duvet. So I went downstairs again and because the reception staff "don't do duvets" I was directed to a new room.
I then had a really lazy evening.
Next day I walked around, got on the free circular tram round the city, saw a few sites, walked round the st kilda harbour and just got my bearings. I also organised a trip along the Great Ocean Road to start the following day. In the evening I went to see some comedy as its the Melb International Comedy Festival at the mo. I picked a good'un, I guess my Edfringe training helped with my choosing!
It was an early start for the Great Ocean Road. I went with Ride Tours and highly recommend it. I slept for the 'boring' portion of the trip as we didn't actually reach the ocean till much later in the afternoon. We saw "London Bridge" and lots of arches and stacks and reached the twelve apostles for 'sunset' (which didn't happen as it was cloudy) but they were still an awesome sight. And we got to strain our eyes looking for the penguins returning to their nests for the evening. Dinner was provided....surprise surprise, a BBQ. But this was an awesome one, we had chicken!? And had to help with the preparation, which i enjoyed. Then went to the pub.
Next day we went back to the twelve appostles and saw more of the great ocean road. I was riding up front and had fun playing dj....even if i was the only one listening to the music (everyone else had their headphones in!) In the afternoon we had a couple of highlights......wild Koala's AND the Round the Twist lighthouse (classic aussie children's tv show for those that don't know). Yeah! We got to watch a koala licking its nuts, which was a surprise in itself as they're meant to sleep 20 out of the 24hours in a day. So we loved that they were awake. and see the famous lighthouse.
We got back to Melbourne at around half 7 and upon check in i went up to my room to find that there was no bedding at all on my bed. back down to reception. change room. wicked. Then a disturbed sleep as the room mate came back with a lady friend who liked to drunkenly sing. wooop.
He left this morning. Shame.
Today I am going to some more comedy (mark watson. i've heard he's good!) and maybe out this evening. So I will let you all know how that goes!
Peace Out (Cruel Intentions reference....watched it again the other day, I do secretly love it just a little bit).


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

London BridgeLondon Bridge
London Bridge

Did fall down...or at least part of it


27th April 2009

Aaaah how cute!
The koala that is! And I like the sound of Winkipop Beach, and Bells Beach of course! xx

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb