Me and my pack


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Eltham
September 20th 2007
Published: September 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's been one manic month. Vacating my apartment in Port Melbourne and moving back to the family home in the burbs, travel vacs, training my replacement at work, a market stall to sell my clothes, TEFL course locked and loaded, farewell drinks ...

So now I'm off! What's the plan? How long will I be gone? What will I do for money, for work? So many questions...

The plan is to backpack SE Asia - Malaysia, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia ... and Vietnam if I have time. Then I'm off to India (via a visit to my good friends Donna & Scott in Singas). In India I'll be volunteering in a village called Shillong in the North-East corner of India with a group of Melbourne teachers (including my uncle Kev). We'll be working with a school and also a charity that helps disadvantaged and abused women learn skills to be self sufficient and keep them off the streets. From here I'll do some more volunteer work in Calcutta, before a stint in the south. Next I'll be jetting to Canada for my first white Christmas (hopefully), then it's Central and South America for a good 6 months - maybe more ....

So basically the plan is indefinite travel. I've got a TEFL (teaching english) qualification which will come in handy should I need some extra cash and I have a RTW fare that starts in Singas in December.

For now, it's just me and my pack.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Camberwell MarketCamberwell Market
Camberwell Market

Sarah helps out with my car boot sale!
Last day at workLast day at work
Last day at work

me & dan in the pod


25th September 2007

things in motion
Wow, so its really happening! That should be fun. Did you make much money in the stall sale of your belongings?! ha ha. I guess Ill be seeing you in Cambodia in December?
25th September 2007

Good Luck
Ellen, all the best for the journey.
25th September 2007

A clear sign
I have been addicted to travel blog for too long- I follow your entire adventures around the world... You come home, work, settle down, and leave again, and I am still reading about your travels. Good luck!
25th September 2007

Flags
Hi Maynesy- so how many flags are on your backpack at this stage of your trip? Surely one or two after five days away! One country doesn't just mean one flag by the way.
25th September 2007

WOW!
Ellen, what timing! I was rereading one of the journals I kept while in Nepal, and I wondered about you. Best wishes for another exciting journey. Ida
25th September 2007

Bon Voyage!
Hey Ellen! Best of luck on your travels - sounds like you're gonna have a great time! Looking forward to hearing about them - keep in touch! See you for that pint sometime!
25th September 2007

Hello
Hey there, Loving the blog already. Have started my course and am loving it although it's lots of work! Good luck and have an amazing time Sal x
26th September 2007

travel well!
Hey love- so excited for you!! Travel well and safe! looking forward to reading all your blog updates! xx
28th September 2007

U Enjoy!
Gosh, you are gone we are all envious as you can imagine ! Espicially H and S, keep the blogs up never know we may just pop in on you !!!!

Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 22; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb