OZ


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Docklands
April 11th 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Right I've been a bit slack and not updated for a while, so apologies first as I know how you are all enthralled by my exploits and wait with baited breath for my next installment, well wait no-more. So I'm in Oz, Melbourne to be specific, got here today and what have I been upto, well not too much if I'm honest and that's why I've not updated. I did plan to chill for a bit when I got to Oz and that what I've done.
After my lovely journey from the Islands of Thailand to Oz I was glad to get here without too much trauma and get a bed and catch-up on some sleep. I was booked into a hostel in Kings Cross, a lovely area of Sydney if anyone hasn't been. Basically it's the red light area, lots of strip joints, hookers (and no Will I've not slept with any) and sex shops, much like Soho in London. It's actually quite tame, well there's lots of weirdo's, but I feel pretty safe when I walk around there, even late at night, although someone was shot in the strip club over from the hostel. It makes for entertainment though. The hostel is pretty cool, well the people anyway, been getting on with them and making friends. Alot are people working here so they're here for a while which is good. There are also a lot of piss heads, so my livers been taking a battering, but itr's not all been drinking.
The 1st day I got here I was quite good and went exploring. I saw the Opera house, Botanical Gradens and various other touristy things, been pretty good and seen pretty much most of the things in Sydney, in-between drinking and other exploits. Sydneys is quite a nice city so have enjoyed wandering round, there's plenty of parks so it's been nice to chill when the weathers been good. Also been to the beach a bit, been to Bondi, but it's not that great, there are a couple of beaches slightly further along which are nicer so I've been there mainly, being having BBQ's at the beach. They have them there already, you just need to pay 20 cent to to use it for 15mins, bargain.
Highlight so far was a trip to Hunter Valley. It's a wine making region and I went wine tasting and to see some wildlfe. First we went to a reptile park and I got to stroke a Koala and they had Kangaroo's running about so you could feed them, odly they liked Suger Puffs, but it was pretty cool. After that we went to 4 winerey's and I tried about 25 different wines, I was a little tipsy after.
I've been doing a bit of going out too, not like me at all. I went to Home to see Paul Van Dyke, who was awesome, Home was good, but for all they money they paid to build it you'd have thought they'd have decent air-con, I sweated buckets it was so hot in there. Been to another good club called, Chinese Laundary, mainly Electro and House, it is quality, had a really great time when I've been.
Planning further trips, but got to get Melbourne out the way. I'm only here until Sat so going to get on the touristy thing. A friend from China lives her for drinks and she's taking me to an Aussie rules game which should be good. After here I'll be in Sydney a bit then maybe the Blue Mountains, or Cairns to go diving, it's Manta Ray and Turtle season which is great, but also box jellyfish season, which isn't great. I'm changing when I leave though so hopefully will get to see somemore stuff. I'll stay in Oz till mid-May, then 3 weeks in New Zealand and then about 5-6 weeks in S.America and I think I'll be back in the U.K. on the 5th July, so pencil me in for the 7th at Kube Goose.
Got to go, my credit is running out. Hope your all good and I'll hopefully have more tales soon, Spade.

Advertisement



18th April 2006

Again, sounds flipping amazing - stay safe in Oz, sounds a bit dogdy, but probably not as bad as leeds. NZ is supposed to class, have heard great stories. Enjoy, take care and dont catch any vd's whilst your sleeping your way around the world!! Cx
19th April 2006

Yay
Can't beleive you're so close to coming home already! You've been half way round the world and still haven't got laid man! I think you might have to make one of those ladies a call! Missing you lots. PS Is your hair down to your navel yet?
22nd April 2006

Will, I need the cash, but I do miss the Kube a little. It's not the 1st thing I'll do, well actually it probably is. Everyone needs to be free on the Sat night though. Claire don't worry it's no way as scarry as Leeds is, I make Leeds sound really bad but it's ok. Col, I never said I haven't been laid, but yeah it's a dry patch. :-(
24th April 2006

Euggh
A dry patch?!? Too much detail Spadey... Am really missing you atm matey... I think it's the bank holiday weekends. I expect you to pop up pissed lol
2nd May 2006

Thanks Kirst, nice to see I'm held in such high regard.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb