Full Moon Party


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
March 17th 2006
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I survied the full moon party unscathed, unlike some of the other people I saw. Since I last updated my blog I've been pretty much relaxing, apart from the Full Moon Party. On the Tues, the day was pretty quiet, I went to Had Rin beach, topped up my tan (delaney you'd be disgusted at the colour of me) and relaxed until the eve.
In the eve I headed down to Had Rin with Simon, the guy I'd dived with and his friend Bec's. Not wasting anytime we hunted down the "special" shakes and got the night going. While I waited tor the shakes to kick in I went to find some other people I'd met travelling who were suppossed to be there, this proved pretty futile with all the people that were already on the beach, so it was to be just the 3 of us.
The party, for those that haven't been is at Had Rin beach, the beach is pretty big, maybe 10min to walk from one end to the other. Along the beach there's bars with sound systems that are playing different types of music and on the beach there's loads of people having a good time. Well that's a concise version.
I was actually surprised by the variation in music, there was only one place playing psy-trance, a couple of places had normal trance, there was a wicked place at 1 end playing really good breaks, I speant quite a bit of the night there. The other places had D'n'B, R'n'B, Indy, pretty much something for everyone.
Apart from the breaks area I speant the rest of the night at the "special" shake bar. They were playing some house and then later some trance. I'm not too sure what to make of the shakes, I'd been told there Mushie shakes, they may have had some mushie's in, but not loads, but they certainly had something in, between them and the buckets (local rum/whiskey, Red Bull supposedly with Phet in and coke in a little bucket) I was fairly trashed. I had a really good night, it is an awesome party and although it took a while to get going, or me to get into it, it did live up to the expectations. Plenty of other people seemed to enjoy themselves too by the number passed out on the beach, I didn't envy being them when they woke up.
Next day I chilled out at my beach hut and have been pretty chilled since then. I met up with Simon and Bec's in the day yesterday, they'd moved to an amazing bungalow in the jungle/forest, it got a natural stream flowing through which they've made into a rock pool, so beautiful and relaxing.
I did go to see some Thai Boxing last night, that was pretty cool. I saw 7 fights and they're pretty brutal. I saw 1 guy KO his oppent in the 1st round, as soon as I heard the punch connect I knew the guy wouldn't be getting up. Also I think another guy got his ribs broken from a kick, well it sounded that way. It wasn't all violence, it was really interesting to see all the ritual that goes in, the fighters pray to their trainer, they also do a little dance at the start to represent there gym and if they're the challenger or not, pretty cool to see.
Apart from that, as I said I've been mainly sitting on the beach relaxing, which has been good. I've managed to not fall off my motor bike yet, unlike most other people, just got 1 more eve to go as of to Bangkok tomorrow, a nice 18 hour journey then afew hours in Bangkok and the I fly to Oz, so the mext time I'm updating this it will propably be from there.
Well sorry it not been too exciting an update, but hope your all well and speak to you soon. Ade.

Advertisement



21st March 2006

Happy Birthday man!
I just tried to e mail you to say Happy Birthday hun but the mail failed :o( So at least this way u know I remembered! Have fun x

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb