Thirtyeight Days Too Long In Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
May 4th 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The next day, we took our stuff to Leyl’s house who’s also in Melbourne, returned the car and started to find jobs and somewhere to stay. I met up with a friend from Thailand, which was really nice and we went for dinner and some tea. On the was back from a bar, we passed a little park where a man was standing! I was thinking ok, weirdo, its 2am, but he was actually feeding possums and after we were talking to him for a bit, he let me feed one! It was so cute and reached forward, took the biscuit (custard cream, highly unnutritous) and then ran back up the tree!. The man said that sometimes they don't eat them as obvioulsy they know they're full of crap, but then other times, like then, they do! It was lovely and i couldn't stop getting excited and making silly noises!

The next day, Saturday 1st April we moved into the dodgiest hostel in the world! The Elizabeth Street hostel and if anyone is thinking about moving into there I would strongly advise against it! The room was ok, it had a window, a tv and a fridge, but the rest of the hostel was minging! They had a smoking room in the kitchen on our floor, you had to hire a knife, fork, spoon and bowl and all the pans, well the majority of them were rusty and had no handles! There were also people living there who obviously had nowhere else to live and who really really liked to drink, a lot, all the time even I don’t think would be exaggerating, basically a hole! This was Saturday the 1st April. We went out that night to a club called Two Floors Up, but before hand we went round to Leyla’s house to drink Goon, hmmmmm nice! We got wasted and took some out in a bottle to the bar! We kept filling everyone’s drinks up with it and trying to hide it from the bar staff, what classy people! We went out with Leyla’s house mates too so that was nice to meet new people. After Leyla made us walk all across the city in the wrong direction, we eventually got a taxi to the club and had a good night, but we were all knackered! The Sunday we didn’t do anything, just mooched and avoided strange people in the hostel!

Monday, we began the search for work. I was really lucky as I found work for the next day which was filing, hurrah and then work designing training manuals for a company that welds railway! Hmm I hear you ask, how did you get that job? Yes it was quite random, but the people were lovely and it was quite an enjoyable job!!! Anyway, nothing at all happened that week, at all until Friday day when there was an incident involving a shower, a pervert and a camera, so we moved hostels on the Saturday, we moved hostels to one that was down the street! We had so much stuff that we had to get a taxi! This new hostel was oo much better! Its large, you can fit 500 people in it apparently but you get a hey card and can only get into certain toilets depending on what sex card you’ve got and stuff! You also have to use the key card to get past reception in the lift so it feels much safer! There’s also a 24 hour bar below it and a gig room in the basement! Sometimes, as we found out
The Damaging Effects Of GoonThe Damaging Effects Of GoonThe Damaging Effects Of Goon

Sultry, stylish, attractive
later, the music from the gig travels up the elevator shaft. Occasionally this is death metal, not enjoyable at all!! You also don’t need 세 hire out your knives and forks etc, just a cup which is $2 and they have a dvd room and tv and internet on the site, with also a 24 hour reception!!

We went out that Saturday to a night that does free champagne for backpackers, I don’t know how they afford it but I felt really really rough the next day! I think it must have been all the bubbles. We had a four bed dorm and on the Saturday we had a girl move in with us and on the Sunday we went out for tea and she came too, which was nice!

Again, the following week starting the nothing we did nothing. To be fair we were all skint! I thought I’d got about $400 in my bank account, but when I check I had $8, oops! Friday was Good Friday and the girls had gotten a job flyering for an RnB club where they got some free drinks and free entry! ME and Leyls got a flyer and got in for free too, but it was buy one get one free on champagne, so felt rough the next day, again! The Saturday, me and Leyls went to the art galleries, there’s a contemporary one and then a normal one as well. The contemporary one had this amazing installation which was basically a maze made out of cardboard. It was tall enough to stand up in and made a roof as well so in some places it was really dark! Some tunnels led to dead ends where there were sometimes things, like a spooky model train set in the dark and a giant wicker ball, about 4 foot high and wide, sat on the top of a ramp as though ready to fall on someone like a trap when they opened the door! There was also a tunnel that you had to climb through and then another with a set of stairs, and when you climbed up the stairs there were pretend periscopes at the top, that when you looked through, showed videos of the sea! There was another cube shape that you walked into with passageways leading to the left and the right, that met at the back of the cube shape. Inside were mirrors and as you came into the passageway, you were facing the other person (Leyla) who’d gone in the other tunnel, in the mirror but you couldn’t see them, it was really weird!!

The Sunday, we went out to a party that one of Leyls’a work friends was having for her birthday. They’d rented out an apartment in town. We then went on some massive escapade to try and get into a club out of town, ended up back in town at the hostel drinking goon and trying to speak French! We then went to Federation Square, and I kicked off my shoe and had to go retrieve it from some startled drinkers! Oops! It was the pretty gold sparkly one though so that’s ok!!! We also met two new friends and went off to another bar! I had a really good night!

We didn’t do anything Monday and then obviously nothing for the rest of the week! On the 21st, which was a Friday the girls worked again and I met Leyls for a drink in the bar at the bottom of the hostel. Again, weird people, bad music, we didn’t stay
Free Champagne NightFree Champagne NightFree Champagne Night

Aah aren't they pretty!
for long! The Saturday, I’m not sure what I did in the day, but at night we went to a cool little bar called Honky Tonks! It really odd and we wouldn’t have got in apart from two Americans who we’d met in a bar. Well one of them, Joel, was the manager of the bar, and kept giving us free drinks and shots and we all decided that we’d go out together to a club! We thought that Joel was gay and Ronny the other seemed harmless enough! But in the bar after, Arthurs, Joel tried to kiss Lauren, then told me that she’s freaked out afterwards and that she was weird! I’d been grabbed by this salsa dancer/teacher (female, in a pink satin evening gown, was quite pretty, I did well) and she continued to spin me aound the dance floor! Lydia also attracted the attention of another young lady in there and looked on helpless as she got closer and closer while me and Lauren laughed! Ory, very cruel I know but when a lesbian sets her sights, there’s not much little ladies like me and Lauren could do to stop her!

Anyway, then we got into Honky Tonks and its proper weird, but amazing! The dj plays out of the toilets and there’s a resin Yorkshire terrier and a white tiger! The back wall is a huge piece of glass looking onto a river I think and the bar is just amazing! As a devout lover of all things alcoholic, the bar is a dream come true! I bet you cold make every kind of cocktail imaginable with that bar!

Sunday, the 23rd April, me and Lyds went to her uncle’s house for Greek Easter and all I can say is wow! The house was beautiful with a swimming pool in the back and the food! My mouths watering as I write this! They had a spit in the garden with chicken , pork and lamb cooking in a special marinade! There were loads of different types of salads and other yummies, just fantastic!!! Lyds’ cousin Andrew, took us out for a ride as well, and we saw Chapel Street, and St Kilda which was nice!

The Monday I had off work as Tuesday the 25th was Anzac day and didn’t do anything, at all! The Tuesday I went to the Melbourne Museum
In The Turkish BarIn The Turkish BarIn The Turkish Bar

I don't think I told you about that one!
which was amazing! It took me four hours to walk around it all and was worth every penny! There was a really interesting part about Aboriginal history. I didn’t realise all the awful things that happened to the Aboriginal people, mainly because of the British, and it made me really sad! Upstairs was a part about the history of Melbourne that wasn’t really my thing and then an inside rainforest! It was small but really cool. My favourite part was the science bit with a 3D film part where you had to wear the glasses with a red and green lense, a bit about the sea, loads of bugs which made my skin crawl and then upstairs was a human bit! There was a human reproduction but with pickled girls and boys bits and a video about human reproduction that a couple were watching whilst holding hands, eugh!!!

I then met Leys and Magu and we went for a drink a mooch and a drink and a mooch! Overall a very enjoyable day and the sun also shone which helped a lot! Again didn’t do anything through the week and then the Friday night we went to Lauren’s boss’
Ooh FreakyOoh FreakyOoh Freaky

This was a man dressed up as a Monkey and yes it was as weird as it looks!
brother’s 21st birthday party! Everyone was Lebanese and no-one would mingle with me! Apart form the barman, who gave me a pink drink in a bottle and said “you look tired!” Hmm suspect! In the taxi home I drank a little, made Lauren drink some, then convinced myself that my tongue was tingling!

Saturday the 29th I felt absolutely awful, I hadn’t even drank that much which I thought was completely unfair! Went souvenir shopping though, hurrah! The Sunday, we borrowed Lyds uncle’s car and went to Healesville Sanctuary! We were all really pissed off because after four month in Australia, apart from the possums, we’d not seen any Australian wildlife! We hadn’t even run over any kangaroos on the way down from Melbourne, which apparently is a common occurrence! So we went to the sanctuary which is where they look after sick or orphaned wildlife! We saw kangaroos, wombats, platypus, koalas, which we touched they are sooo cute! Wallabies which we also touched, Tasmanian devils which are the weirdest animals and loads of different birds and reptiles! Even though it rained all day, it was loads of fun!!!

Went to work again on Monday but this ended
Our Second HostelOur Second HostelOur Second Hostel

Ooh, look how tidy it is, not!
on Wednesday the 3rd May, thank the lord! Was starting to be a proper stress, not what you want from a temp job at all and I had to get up early so couldn’t do anything even if I had wanted to! That night, last night even, we went to the comedy festival which was loads of fun, and then to a really funky bar afterwards that played funk, funnily enough! Its downstairs with settees everywhere and feels just like someone’s front room, its wicked!

Even though I’ve had fun, I think this has been the most miserable I’ve been on the trip so far! I’ve really grown to dislike Melbourne for the following reasons:



The nightlife here is amazing but its not enough to keep me! Apparently, you either like Sydney or Melbourne and I think I’m a Sydneyite, for the time being anyway! Which bring me nicely to my next point, please move to the next entry!!!










Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 31


Advertisement

Ooh Those RnB GirlsOoh Those RnB Girls
Ooh Those RnB Girls

They love it!
East BunnyEast Bunny
East Bunny

Incidentally, this is my favourite dress!


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb