I'll be back to Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
December 16th 2008
Published: December 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Phil's home Phil's home Phil's home

stopped here on our Free tour
I LOVE LOVE LOVE Melbourne! It's alot like home, but bigger and filled with Aussies.
So two days ago after at least 36 hours of flying I arrived in a small airport on the outskirts of Melbourne. I immediately met Doreen who was also trying to find a bed at a hostel on the phone. We found a place together and then hoped on the bus. We found a room at the Discovery Hotel two streets away from the city center. We have one roommate who tends to sleep all day and night and doesn't say much. That night we met up with two Estonian guys she had met on the Gold Coast. The four of us went out for a few drinks and some heated worldly discussions.
Yesterday we went on a free tour provided by the hotel. Phil (local Melbournite) drove us around in a little bus to some back streets and small suburbs just outside city centre. We stopped on shopping streets, by markets, saw old breweries, the Yarra river with HUGE flying fox bats and even stopped at his little home to visit the chickens. Doreen and I decided to shop for the rest of the day on this one street that KICKS Johnson street's ass! (I now know that there are at least 3 other streets like this one...I just don't have enough time!) That night we had tickets to see Billy Elliot the live musical and Her Majestys Theatre. We got all dolled up and went to a GREAT show.
This morning I slept in before going to the Queen Victoria Market, a gigantic covered outdoor market with rows and rows of clothing, souvenirs, fruits and veg, nuts, cheese, olives, meats, wine, breads, CANDY. It was magnificent and I wish JWo were with me so we could have a picnic just like Granville Island (but better). After eating some of my yummy treats I met up with Nicole and Maxine from Victoria. We went to Flinders lane and found a cute little creperie for coffee, went shopping and then parted ways. I'm going to try and make it back to Melbourne after Adelaide to see the girls again and see where they live 1.5 hr out of Melbourne centre.
Melbourne is unofficially the fashion capital of the southern hemisphere and you can see it on the streets. The coolest part was that people kept commenting
Flinders laneFlinders laneFlinders lane

..with trendy folk
on my good ol' leopard print Winners cardigan- now SO worth the $75 I painfully spent for it at home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb