Return of the Invisible Woman!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
June 27th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

D. The Three Amigos!D. The Three Amigos!D. The Three Amigos!

Here are Ali and Lizzie, two of my drinking buddies. Sadly, Lizzie had to go home before we hit the Great Ocean Road, but she rocks!
Hi everyone,
well, I didn't quite make it back the evening of the last blog, not onto the net anyway! The Swiss girl I was chatting to is Vanessa, her and a room-mate of mine, Anna, had invited me to join them, and then I was rude and typing on my laptop! We chatted for a while, and then I went off to meet Ann at her hostel, and we went to find a decent bar in Melbourne. You would not believe the price of drink here! Apparently about 3 weeks ago, one of their ministers added tax onto all alcohol to try and curb the problem of teenage binge drinking. Speaking from experience, I'm thinking that might make the situation worse, wanting to go to a club with a bit of drink in you, can't afford it in pubs, and so end up drinking at home, and probably more than you were going to when you could afford to go to a club! As Ann said, we sure picked the wrong time to come to Australia! Both herself and myself went out Friday, Saturday and Sunday, and still haven't found a decent pub, in terms of atmosphere or price. We
E. Ann from the PlaneE. Ann from the PlaneE. Ann from the Plane

Ann moved to our hostel to join in the fun and drink for less!
discovered that all the pubs in Melbourne seem to close early on a sunday too, so we only had time for 1 drink and then we both headed back to our respective hostels. Luckily there were a bunch of drinkers back in the rec area of my hostel, enjoying some goon (4 litre boxes of Australian plonk), including Nessa, who very kindly shared hers with me. From what I can remember, I think we finished up at about 4 that night, and I had met Ali and Lizzie, who became my drinking buddies for the rest of the week. I did make some attempts to find both an apartment and a job, but was informed that the Australian version of Money and Jobs, and the Free Ads comes out on Saturday, so I had well and truly missed that! Kept up with some stuff online, but as I pointed out in the previous blog, it's a pricey thing using the net in the hostel. So the next few nights involved me learning some fun new drinking games, swapping massages and consuming enormous quantities of both goon and vodka. King's Cup, Mushroom and Races are great games to help you consume much alcohol fast, particularly King's Cup! Wednesday evening, I invited myself along on a trip to the 12 Apostles, along the Great Ocean Road, starting Thursday morning. We again drank that night, but finished up early for us (about 2.45am) and hauled our asses out of bed for 10am Thursday morning, and got our rental car, which was dropped off to the hostel for us. And I'm going to leave you hanging again, cause my battery is dying this time! Also, I may have figured out how to upload my photos tomorrow, when I get around to adding onto this again (which hopefully won't be in another week!) Peace, out.

Advertisement



3rd July 2008

You Never Changed
well anne you never changed your whole blog is acohol related and dee said you are gay ha ha want to see some pics the next time i look you up and get the hell out of Melbourne if the pubs close that early what are you thinking talk soon les
7th July 2008

You Go Girl
Well Anne sure there is no fear of you!!!! no matter what time the pubs close you have to remember the Irish way improvise with cheap wine, beer and of course try and rope some people into joining you by convincing them that it would be a great idea for them to come back to yours and listen to you warble on all night about pure rubbish and sing irish songs until they eventually leave and you never see them again and you wonder where it all went wrong!!!!! ha ha sounds like fun enjoy will be in touch soon :-)

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb