We're CLOSED!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
March 5th 2008
Published: March 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MCGMCGMCG

It's big!
First it was the Louvre (any years ago mind you!) that refused to show us the Mona Lisa - when we had made a special journey there mind you, and now the Australian Centre of Contemporary Art. I checked before setting out on the tram, but no, on arrival the doors stayed firmly closed! Pity, as it sounds very exciting. However, I did sit in a cafe next to it and take some photos, then broke into an area at the back which looked interesting! I know, I do not improve with age!!

However, the MCG was open, so I did the tour of that famous cricket ground. Very interesting and a tad larger than the grounds I am used to!! There were lots of tours taking place and as in ours, the majority of people going round were women! We trod on the hallowed turf and poked in the changing rooms which are palatial!! They even have leather armchairs in them - no such thing as a wooden bench over here. The ice baths were the same though - icy!! You will not be surprised to learn that Clare and Andrew did not have the same enthusiasm for this
MCGMCGMCG

It just keeps coming!
tour, so I have found my way around Melbourne on my own today, so far all is well; but there is still the journey home!!

Australia has been a fantastic part of this trip, both meeting up with Clare, a college friend, and her husband, and seeing this country for the first time. This has bee a very short visit, but I shall be back. This city especially is an exciting place to visit, the wildlife down in Wilson's Prom was fun too so I shall be back.

Now I have soe time left on the computer so I am going to try the photos again. My apologies if you find yourselves seeing double.....!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

MCGMCG
MCG

That's the important part - the pitch.


6th March 2008

Re:We're Closed!
Those are great pictures! It looks so warm and green. I am envious!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb