On the way out


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » North Melbourne
March 5th 2008
Published: March 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

9th March 2008


Well, that was one short week!! I am now at the airport waiting to return to Auckland. Australia was a wonderful experience and very different from my expectations. The people were very helpful and friendly - no pomme bashing at all, in fact the opposite was the case.

Melbourne was vibrant and I could easily spend far longer here, in fact I offered to stow away in Clare's flat, go to the marvellous market and cook up some feasts to leave in here freezer, but that way I would miss the South Island, so I am leaving. (LIvvy, there may well be a chance of veggie marshmallows, we are working on the job. There was a very helpful stall holder who knew someone who might be able to help..)

Earlier this week we walked into Monash Uni where Andrew is working, my goodness it is large! The buildings are fun in places, but otherwise just a typical uni set up. We managed a drink in the University Club - so that is the second one I have frequented, I think the NY one is a totally different kettle of fish though!!

One surprising thing I have found in Melbourne, is the design of the houses. There are a few two storeyed buildings, but mostly it is bungalows which are really jam packed together. I had assumed everything would be larger than at home, especially the gardens - but wrong again!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.324s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0986s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb