Hello Andy, Hello


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » CBD
August 27th 2009
Published: August 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Doesn't time fly



Wow! I've been in Australia for a year! (to the day on 1st september.) That is mental! There is no point of trying to retrospectivly blog my year. On one hand too much has happened and on teh other i have essentially just been working, not travelling so its not really the same (which is why the few and far between updates on here finally fizzled out totally.) Here is a brief, annecdoteless summary!

Have had an amazing time. 5 Months in Sydney, mostly working in HOME (huge nightclub) and loving it. Made some seriously awsome mates, backpackers and locals. Lived on Bondii beach for 6 weeks in middle of summer and spent final 2 months over xmas living in cool flat in CBD (Darlinghurst) and had incredible time. In seeing Mum and Dad over Xmas which was so cool! Kangaroo in Sydney Botanical Gardens on Xmas day in the sun!

Left at end of Jan to see what melbourne was like and Sarah (sister) already there in a flat with some mates I also know (Rick, Sam, Lauren, Nancy) Arrived in middle of heatwave (temps mid 40's in the city, was crazy) and what was gonna be 3 nights on the couch became over 2 months. That was cool. Struggled ti find job but eventually sarah hooked me up and have been last 5months in a cocktail/wine bar/restaurant. Pretty cool there, met lods ppl again and get good hours and pay. Spent last 4 months living and working in a hostel here. Worked on the nar so my rent was free and that has been an amazing time, lots of partying and lots of work and generally a pretty crazy backpacker way of life. MOved to a flat a few days ago for next month which is great as getting a bit of normality/peace&quiet/sanity.

And thats it, been a great year, saving some money now and working out what next.

My main aim of this blog was just to let you know my vauge plan (and it is vague but it is far more concrete than anything I have had in the last 4 months) is to stay in melbourne for a couple more months and work hard as I can in order to save up as much as possible (whilst still enjoying myself) To come home to England to visit after that (Probably in December so i can be home at Xmas as well) but basically because as an amazing time I have bneen having Its been over 19months away now and I really wanna see so many people (especially if you are actually reading this blog, thanks) but basically it will be time to see my family and remind all of the mates i left behind I'm still about and breathing. Am really looking forward to that but it is also going to be SERIOUSLY weird to return back and I cant pretende I'm not kinda nervous about it.

Anyway. after the trip home I am planning (roughly) to return to Oz for a few more months in order to backpack on teh west coast as I had always planned to, now with some mates of mine who are also keen. Dates etc on that are not sorted yet so i may end up doing another couple of months work here but in which city/state/profession I have no idea. But then there is plenty of time for that.

SO thats me. I miss you. I love you. I will see you soon(ish)

xxx

Advertisement



27th August 2009

Ace
Sounds like you are having an excellent time mate and I am looking forward to your return whenever that will be. VEry jealous as haven't had any time over the past couple of years to do anything other than the odd week away here and there...anyway, get in touch when you are back. Much love... P.s. Me, Owain and Dave are so Leeds!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb