Waiting for the beat to kick in...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Darlinghurst
March 20th 2009
Published: August 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

OKAY OKAY

So what is written below is a blog I started to write on 20th March in an attempt catch up with my life in Australia. I didnt really scratch the surface and infact recounts roughly what I was doing nearly a year ago. I am about to write a blog summing up what Im doing right now as opposed to saying what ive done as its too late for that but thought i may as well publish this anyway, why not?

Real update to follow shortly!


HOME sweet HOME - Part One



So here I am again, over 14months since I left English shores about to try to update you on where and what the hell I've been doing these last few months! I know that I finished up my previous blog leaving New Zealand which was definatley an important point on the trip and it pretty much marked the end of my "traveling" (for the time being anyway) and the start of my time spent living in Sydney! That happened on 1st September and thats where I stayed (in various Locations) untill I finally left on 28th January (which to be exact is 149days) spent living, working and loving that awesome city!

I did tonnes of great stuff in Sydney but unlike all my previous adventures its not quite the same to write about as it wasnt like it all happened back to back, so here I'm going to attempt a potted 5 months recap of what went down! I'll break it down into sections based on where I was living so although it might not all fit into this blog it will be easier to work out what was happening!

Wake Up!

My first day in Sydney and I arrived and checked into Wake Up hostel where I met my original travel amigo Lisa. It was the first time I'd seen her in about 5 months and she was leaving Sydney the next morning so we had a loads of catching up to do as well as drinking plenty of cheap Rose wine and generally having too much banter! I did manage to catch up with her for one more night about 2 weeks later as she passed though again where we basically achieved the same level of stupidity and then she was off to New Zealand and towards America!

I stayed in Wake up for about 5 or 6 weeks in total and there I formed a really good group of mates who would pretty much remain my mates for my time in the city! Wake Up is a pretty cool hostel as its huge and filled with soo many backpackers plus has a bar beneath with is always pretty busy and the quiz on a Tuesday became pretty legendary!

I instantly began looking for a bar job but in a twist I cant really remember now I ended up spending two weeks as an Eftpos (i.e chip and pin machine) salesman, walking round Sydney in a suit realising this was probably the job I would least like to be doing in the whole world. There was no pay and you only made cash when you sold a machine and basically reminded me of all teh crap things I'd left behind in my job at home. This was NOT why I was in Sydney and I very quickly jacked it in as soon as I'd been offered another couple of jobs in bars. One was in a huge nightclub called HOME which is on the harbour front in central Sydney and the other in a new cocktail bar in Kings Cross called Goldfish bowl

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb