Australia Report


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Brunswick
June 6th 2008
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hostel RoomHostel RoomHostel Room

My apartment is a bit of an upgrade to the hostel, in which after 2 weeks, I am not sad to see go.
Hello All!

Things are going well over in Australia at the moment. I was finally able to find an apartment which is lovely (I will post pictures of it soon!). It is in East Brunswick, so its about 20-25 minutes of the city by tram. It is close to the Univeristy of Melbourne, so there are a lot of students around. It is not the most perfect area ever, but I really like the apartment so its worth it. Glad that I found somewhere, because for a while there it seemed as if I would never be able to find a place to stay. I get to move in today if I want, but I still need to track down a bed, so it may be a few more days. I am sharing with 3 other people who all seem really cool and nice, and I am looking forward to getting to know them.

There was almost a disaster with the apartment though! I went to look at it, and I knew right then thats where I wanted to live. I let them know I was interested, and they said someone else was coming to look at it in
HostelHostelHostel

My lovely home for 2 weeks!
a bit, but basically I had it. So I spent all night waiting for the call, and the next morning. Finally I send them a text message just asking what the final word was. They called me back and said "we talked to you last night and offered you the palce" I was like no. So basically they offered it to the wrong person, who luckily found a differnt place. So with a bit of luck I ended up with the place! Thank goodness!

Now that I found a place to stay, its time for the job search! This is not the most exciting thing ever, but it will be good to start meeting people through work, and starting to make money rather than spend it!

Other than that things have been pretty slow. The apartment search has been taking up most of my time and interenet is expensive. Now that I have a place with wireless I should be able to find work really quickly. Other than that I have been up to a few random things. I went to my first Australian Rules Football game (footy). Upon Andrew's instruction I am now a Geelong Cat's fan,
Flinders Street StationFlinders Street StationFlinders Street Station

Meeting under the clocks of Flinders Street Station is the most famous meeting place in Melbourne. Located in the city, just minutes away from the newly built Federation Square and the river.
which works rather well becasue they have been doing well this year. Not quite the same as American Football, but it will do for now. During the game I ate a meat pie and a beer, so there is not much moreI can do to become Australian... Then last night I tried Kangaroo at dinner, not my favorite food ever (rather gamey), but it was something I had to try, becase I doubt we get that back home.

Hope everyone is doing well back home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

CBDCBD
CBD

Overlooking the Yarra River, which splits the city. Here is part of the CBD (Central Busines District) and Southbank (to the left)
TramsTrams
Trams

Still trying to figure out the Tram deal. Apparently Melbourne has the most extensive tram network in the world or something (no wonder I am still confused!)


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb