After a Week in Oz


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Geelong
July 3rd 2010
Published: July 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's been one week since we landed and we still think we have jet lag, every night we go to bed around 10 or 11, Liam's having a nap as I type this because he is tired and can't handle it!

We've realised how much more expensive it is to live here compared to England, for instance today we went to the cinema to see Twilight Saga: Eclipse and it cost us $30, what a joke! Although it was a good film it's not worth that price! However, the wages are quite high so once you have a job I suppose it's better, so Liam better hurry up lol!

I'm going to my uni Beach Welcome trip on Monday til Wednesday, leaving Liam to fend for himself, I'm looking forward to it, heading down to Lorne, a coastal town where I am going to attempt to learn how to surf, wish me luck! I start uni on the 12th July so I still have a week to bum around, I have managed to pick my timetable I'm only in for 3 days and each day is for only an hour or so! So I can get a job too Liam is shouting in the background!

This will make you laugh, we have put up a poster advertising ourselves to babysit, we are that desperate! We haven't had any calls yet 😞

It was quite nice weather today so we went fora walk down to the Waterfront, they have a swimming pool there and a cornered off section of the sea with diving boards its kinda weird but cool! We also had a look at the public BBQ's they are so cool! You just take your meat picnic down there press a button and fire it up! We plan to do it next weekend, if we have enough money to buy the meat, all donations are welcomed lol as if you haven't given us enough already!

I don't think we have ever done so much walking in our lives, every day this week we have walked at least 4 miles from one end of the city to another, maybe that's the real reason why we are going to bed so early, we're not used to it, especially me!

We're going to watch X-men on the laptop TV connection, that Liam said Gavin will be jealous of, we do need to get one Hilliard family, although over here we aren't able to go on any movie/tv streaming or download websites as they are all banned! 😞

Hope you are all well, missing you lots and will update you soon! xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb