Day 9 Chiltern Mon 25th October


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Chiltern
October 25th 2010
Published: October 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Some of the remaining members went out to Bartley’s Block again this morning, we were trying to see a Turquoise Parrot for Charlotte, one turned up after smoko but Charlotte missed seeing it!
We all eventual go to the parking spot, someone suggested I lead the convoy out; it might have helped if I had looked at a map to remind me which road to take out to Bartley’s! Annie and I both agreed that I NEVER lead another outing EVER.
It was a very casual morning with people just ambling about catching up with birds they missed the first time. I wanted a photo of the White-throated Gerygone nest, you can see the results on this blog and the little bird never turned up to the nest. Then I wanted a pic of the Mistletoebirds nest, it was lovely and knowing the baby had fledged meant I could get close without disturbing the parents. But do you think I could find it again! I searched for 10mins and nothing! So I set up for a picture of a Willy Wagtail on its nest. And I hope you like what I got; the bird was still in the process of construction, there was a lot of wriggling and shuffling to get the inside just right.
With lunch arriving some of us headed into town for a meal (chicken pie & big jam donut from Chiltern Bakery) and some to pack up and move on. So a few hugs where handed out and many goodbyes said as people slowly headed back to town.
I spent the afternoon catching up with blogs and playing on the web looking at the journey to Deniliquin, what birds I might see and where to stop for breaks.
Excellent chicken souvlaki for tea.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

A nice treeA nice tree
A nice tree

Left over from the brewry days, there is also a Mulbery tree
White-throated TreecreeperWhite-throated Treecreeper
White-throated Treecreeper

busy collecting for nest


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb