Day 10 Chiltern to Deniliquin Tues 26 October


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Deniliquin
October 27th 2010
Published: January 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Chiltern to Deniliquin


ChilternChilternChiltern

The dog you have when you don't have a dog
It was goodbye to Chiltern today and hello to Deniliquin. The mapping application said it should take me roughly 3 hours to travel between the two towns. I left at around 10.30am (check out time) and got to Deni at 4pm, yep I had a couple of stop along the way!
Morning smoko at Bundalong Boat Ramp was the best for birding, with a section of the Murray River available with red gums, reeds and holiday home gardens. This siding town on the Murray River & Murray Valley Hwy reminded me of some beachside towns all fancy houses taking over from the original shacks with no shops or other services (one small servo). I think it’s the holiday destination for Yarrawongian’s.
I had lunch and a walk around Yarrawonga to break up the day, they have an enormous lake. The Crusty Loaf bakery made my favourite sandwich on some lovely multi grain bread with excellent crusts. I also had a cream bun and cuppa tea. Sorry no picture it was too late by the time I thought of it!
Thankfully I had found some shade to park in on a side street of Yarrawonga commercial district, I’m still not used to or ready for summer. The road from Yarrawonga, through Cobram and nearly to Tocumwal is very straight and boring to drive on. And I had to use the Age as a sun shade on my legs driving along, driving west all day got a little ‘old’. The scenery was a little bit interesting but mostly farming. I saw a BIG strawberry at Koonoomoo that lifted the spirits, that and the corner I turned to head for Tocumwal. Strawberries seemed to be the major produce on this corner of the Murray Valley Hwy, it’s about all there was at Koonoomoo, along with the strawberry farms. Did not stop for a picture, should have, check out the pictures on the net.
To cross the Murray into NSW’s was a nice change, lots of big corners to get over all the billabongs, wetlands and then the river. But I never saw a welcome to NSW goodbye Vic sign however I did find a big thing in Tocumwal, hope you all like it.
By this time I was fairly sick of driving west into the sun! So another stop was made (shady pack found again!), a walk around town
Murray CodMurray CodMurray Cod

Tocumwal NSW
was had, some pictures taken and a post card sent to Gran. Then it was back in the car and onto Finley.
Yep I stopped again bought a coffee and donut at the local bakery, after a walk up the main street, then found some thick shade under a sugar gum tree to enjoy them at the local park. I also opened most of the car window to cool down the inside, Chiltern was getting hot! I stopped in Chiltern on the way to Deniliquin at a local second hand bookshop that had local hand crafts. I had seen teddy bears through the window the day before and decided I needed to check them out. But I bought a teddy dog who is now my car buddy, he’s great doesn’t get road rage, lets me do all the talking and is always there!
So I finally got to Deniliquin at around 4pm, went into town to visit the Info Centre but they were shut so went to Newsagent instead. Got the paper, a book and a map then headed out to the caravan park. Booked in, unpacked, walked down to the boat ramp, meet some people from Ballarat! And saw Superb Parrots!!!!!
Walked into town for take way tea, yummy Thai Green Prawn Curry, rang home to say Happy Birthday to Lana.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Edward RiverEdward River
Edward River

Deniliquin
foot path stencilfoot path stencil
foot path stencil

National Bridge over Edward River
its for saleits for sale
its for sale

only needs a little work!


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0936s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb