Tassie Adventure Part 5


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Launceston
January 1st 2009
Published: January 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Part 5


Sunday 14th December 2008


From launceston it was a long boring motorway drive (1st Motorway we'd seen so was quite surprised to find one) and I looked forward to the twisty winding roads - which I got later - lots of them!!


We stopped off at a honey farm and did some tasting. Yuuuum! I do normally like honey but this stuff was especially great - chocolate, pistachio, white choc and raspberry........ Made some honey purchases (which were later to be stolen by some mean Kiwi Custom officials).

Drove to the top end of the Cradle Mountain - Lake St Clair National Park to see Cradle Mountain.


Lake Dove was beautiful with the Mountain in the backdrop. Not content with the nice view the mountaineer among us, Martin, insisted we take the red track to the top. My poor legs.....was worth it but was pretty shattered by the end of it.


THEN on the way back to the carpark I spotted a WOMBAT!!!!! I was very excited but think I scared it off with my cries of " WOMBAT, WOMBAT, WOMBAT!!!!!!"


Once I had calmed down we drove on to a free campsite next to lake McKenzie where we did "real" camping - no toilets, nothing and all on our own. Was brilliant. Got a big fire going, watched sunset and then an hour or so later the moon rise and star gazed for a while in a wine induced tranced.......far too much Goon was consumed on this particular night.....................................


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

WombatWombat
Wombat

Suppose I should point out that this is not the actual wombat spotted by my good self but in fact one from a zoo. I couldn;t get the camera out quick enough........


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb