Tasmanian Weekend: Lovely Hobart and Bruny Island


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart
January 10th 2017
Published: December 21st 2015
Edit Blog Post

I finally had the chance to visit one of the most charming travel destinations Australia has to offer, Hobart, the capital of Tasmania. I flew in for a short solo weekend trip, having found a last-minute deal at the Quality Hotel Hobart Airport, which is only a few minutes away from all the Hobart tourist attractions.

I’ve always wanted to visit Tasmania , or “Tassie,” as the locals call it, and I couldn’t wait to check out Salamanca Place, the historic waterfront cobblestone square that is the heart of the city. I took a quick taxi ride to Salamanca Place and luckily I had arrived on a Saturday, the day when there is a huge, bustling marketplace in the square. The square was beautiful and vibrant, filled with shoppers and strollers browsing the many local vendors selling arts and crafts, fashion, antiques, and of course, fresh produce. Some of the best restaurants in Hobart City are around the square, and many local chefs use the market as a way to source local fruits and vegetables. The market made the visit especially fun, but there are also bars, boutiques, galleries, cafes, and arts institutions all around the square.

Salamanca Place was a bit crowded, so after wandering the market, I decided to head towards the nearby wharves as I was determined to try some of the fresh seafood that Hobart, a large and active seaport, is famous for. I ended up having an amazing meal of fresh oysters and salmon, and also got to check out an crazy array of boats: yachts, fishing boats, and massive cruise ships at Constitution Dock.

The next day I decided to get out of town. Car rental in Hobart is quite easy. A lot of tourists like to visit Mount Wellington, which is about a half hour away from Hobart, but I decided to skip that and head to Bruny Island instead. A friend of mine who had visited Tasmania last year told me that I absolutely had to make time for Bruny Island when I had asked him what I should put on my agenda for the weekend. I stopped for a quick lunch in Kettering, a quiet and sleepy town where you can catch the car ferry to Bruny Island.

When the ferry arrived at Bruny Island I was so glad I had made the effort to make a visit. The island’s scenery was spectacular and I had chosen a day with bright sun and clear skies for my visit. Bruny Island is a nature lover’s paradise, with birds, wombats, wallabies, and little penguins.

There were eco-cruises and tours on offer, but after a short walk on the beach at Cloudy Bay, I decided to spend time at the museum at Adventure Bay. At the museum I got caught up on the history of the island, and the rich stories of the Aboriginal tribes, sailors, explorers and whalers who called it home. A bit exhausted after my day of exploring, I decided to check out Australia’s southernmost pub and relax.

Refreshed after a fun day, I hopped in the car to catch the last ferry and head back to Hobart. I’m glad I got a taste of Tasmania and hope I’ll be back soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb