Back in South Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia
January 10th 2009
Published: January 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm in Cook. It's only a couple of hundred kilometres from the border but half of the trip is north. It's a major stop on the Trans Continental railway line and Saturday appears to be a busy day. There are a few trains coming though. So, I left the border after a big breakfast and only thinking that I MAY come up here. They insist that you only come here in a 4WD but I didn't need it at all. The track here was very rough though. It's in places like this that you really appreciate the isolation of the Nullabor but the town of Cook is actually bigger than I expected. Still there are only five people living here .... it's a bit of a ghost town. The steam age was when the town was big..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb