What a day ........


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Ceduna
January 11th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

cook01cook01cook01

This is how close to the line I was. Noise wasn't a problem either.
Well I woke up at a reasonable time in the weatherboard house in Cook. A train was in and it features in photos that accompany this post. I packed up almost straight away and headed out of town after another quick look around, on to the start of a 100km rough journey. To my dismay, after covering about 50kms, the Jackaroo suddenly changed back in to first gear!

Now, if I don't want anything - it's vehicle problems. Firstly you think of several things it could be, then you narrow it down and then you wonder if the cause of the problem is one that you thought it was not. It struggled to change gear - and sometimes it didn't. If I sat or a while, it would change gears properly when I took off again. Sometimes I'd only have to sit for 10 seconds, sometimes longer but no matter how long I was stationary for, I was absolutely baffled as to what it could possibly be. If it got up to speed again, I'd be driving along thinking it MAY be alright and suddenly it changes to second gear again!

I was fairly puzzled when I was at
cook02cook02cook02

And here it is from another angle. The trains fuel up here.
the Nullabor roadhouse and decided that it may be simply that the gearbox is hot. As I write this, my next planned step is to check the radiator in the morning and hope that I have to top it up. Hopefully that will fix it. We can only hope. So the day wasn't that great.

Although the drive was nice and while I was driving I was enjoying it. Plus I am used to cars playing up. Now I am in a motel in Ceduna. I am quite fond of Ceduna for some reason. I don't know why.

Enjoy the photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

cook04cook04
cook04

I think this is where passengers can go to the gift shop. I think this is the station.
cook05cook05
cook05

This is the real nullabor. And the scenery doesn't change for 80 kilometres!


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb