Southern Break to Byron via Bathurst


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Victor Harbor
April 7th 2009
Published: April 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello All, Carissa and I have recently returned from the Byron Bay mud, I mean Bluesfest held over Easter. What is it with us and music festivals? It seems we have an uncanny ability, in the words of one of the performers, Mr Tim Finn, to 'bring the weather with you'. That being said Bluesfest did not dissapoint and Carissa, myself, and Rhys enjoyed many of the acts including Ben Harper, Michael Franti and the unstoppable John Butler. Rhys and I also managed a fantastic surf at Lennox Head on the way to Byron, despite risking our lives getting in and out of the surf over the rocks. It was worth the cuts and bruises.
Prior to Easter, Carissa and I have spent the last month working in picturesque Victor Harbor- an increasingly popular holiday destination located approximately one hour south of Adelaide.
Carissa has been working with a great team at the local pharmacy while I continued to work doing temporary fencing in and around Adelaide.
One of the events I was involved in setting up was the Clipsal 500. A huge V8 Super Car motorace that rips through the CBD of Adelaide in March each year. We were able to snaffle some free tickets and although not huge motor race fans, enjoyed the free concerts each night including the Living End and Wolfmother.
Another fantastic bonus of living on the coast has been the surf. I have been fortunate to have some fantastic days with notably less people competing for the waves than I'm used to on the East Coast. I'm not sure but it may have ruined me. Surveying the 200+ people competing for a wave at 'the pass' in Byron over Easter, I couldn't help but long for the 3 or 4 guys out the back casually waiting for a wave at Parsons, Victor Harbor.
The journey home from South Australia was interspersed with a stop in beautiful Bathurst, 3 hours west of Sydney. A long time friend of Carissa's from university was getting married. We managed to put the van through a lap of the Mt Panorama circuit, however at this point it's clear that I best leave the V8 driving to the experts. A kid on a bicycle overtook us at one stage...
We are currently home for a few weeks before setting out again on the next adventure. Hope all enjoyed the Easter break.
Until next time Hoo Roo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb