RTW (4) - Southern Australia: How'd you go?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Mt Gambier
September 20th 2013
Published: December 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The Twelve ApostlesThe Twelve ApostlesThe Twelve Apostles

Great Ocean Road
Hi everyone! Hope you're all fine

This is my next holiday blog, focussing on my time in the very South of Australia, between Melbourne and Mount Gambier, where I stayted with my relatives for around a week.



Having flown in from Hong Kong overnight I arrived on a fresh Monday morning in Melbourne to meet up with my Australian relatives who I hadn't seen for over 10 years! We then drove back along the Great Ocean Road seeing some of the Geographical Landscapes that are reminiscent of the Jurrasic Coast in Dorset. Although unfortunately sleep deprivation did catch up with me and so I didn't get to see everything along the coast, and even ended my first night being too tired to continue eating!



Staying overnight in Warrnambool we finally arrived back in Mount Gambier the following afternoon and the following day I had a long lie in followed by catching up with all the bits and bobs I was unable to do before, such as registering for graduation.



The following day I went off the visit more relatives who I hadn't seen for 13 years, and was taken around the
KangarooKangarooKangaroo

Mount Gambier
town centre, whilst the next day I once again rested. On the weekend we had a big family meal as well as a barbeque inside a volcano, where I met up with almost all my Australian relations.



Whilst the weather itself was not actually that cold, having acclimatised to 30 degrees for two weeks it did come as a bit of a shock, but the area was very nice and I managed to see wild Kangaroos as well as a Koala and emus. I also met many friendly people where there was a bit of a language barrier (no, Australian English is not the same as British English) - oh and the wierdest thing, there are internal quarantine restrictions between the states!



On the way back to Melbourne was stopped at Sovereign Hill, an 1850s Gold Mine open air museum, before making our way to the Melbourne markets where I left my relations and toured around the city - visiting the street where Neighbours is filmed and taking some of the free buses around the sights of the city.



The following day I then took a flight over to Sydney


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Blue LagoonBlue Lagoon
Blue Lagoon

Mount Gambier


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb