Long Trip home.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
June 13th 2013
Published: June 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -34.9258, 138.6

Our last day in Tahiti proved unfortunate. We stayed in the hotel for the morning, starting to pack and getting ready to come home. We ventured out just before lunch. Just outside the hotel, on an uneven part of the footpath, my ankle gave way and I fell! What a spectacle that must have been for everyone. Fletcher and several others rushed to assist, even more embarassing, but I knew I had hurt my ankle. However, I tried to laugh it off and after a short rest we continued to the bank.

I was now hobbling and the ankle was starting to swell. We stopped at Le Retro for lunch and when the waitress brought an ice bucket for the wine I grabbed a handful of ice and using Fletcher's handkerchief as a bandage wrapped some onto my ankle. I had a club sandwich which was very tasty and then we started for the hotel. This time it was Fletch outwalking me as by now the ankle was like a balloon and I was struggling.

Back in the hotel I iced it again and finished packing. That evening Bob came up for a predinner drink and then we got a taxi to Chez Jeannine, a Chinese restaurant where we were meeting many of the others for a last meal in Papeete. The food was good and the company entertaining, but the ankle was throbbing. After a pleasant evening we were given a lift back to the hotel arriving about 9pm. A final check of the room and we set the alarm for 3-30am.

I woke just before the alarm and we arose, had a quick( mainly cold) shower and were in the foyer by 4-15am. The bus was already there so once everyone arrived we were off. I was struggling to walk but everyone helped with bags etc. We were at the airport by 5am and then had over a two hour wait before we could board. The flight left at 7-30am. It was a 6 hour flight to Auckland and then a four hour wait for our plane to Sydney. At least that was in the Qantas lounge where a medicinal G&T helped ease the pain. The flight to Sydney took just over three hours and then another wait for our plane to Adelaide. There was much hobbling through airports as we had to clear customs twice, rebook bags and the gates were always the farthest away!! It was wonderful to finally reach Adelaide and find a taxi to take us home. We walked through our own front door a little after 10pm and after 20 hours of travel we were very glad to be home!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb