Adelaide


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
November 24th 2012
Published: November 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wow, only a month to go until Christmas! As much as I like it, I don’t think I’ll ever fully get used to Christmas during summer. It just doesn’t feel quite right. This year, we will probably be camping with friends for a few days. Well, we’ve been camping for the last 10 months, so we might as well do it over Christmas too 😊



I had previously only been to Adelaide for work (I was delighted that the board meeting was held at the avant-garde, barrel-shaped National Wine Centre). I made sure that I had a couple of days to myself afterwards, but I hardly recognised Adelaide this time round.



Upon our arrival, we made a beeline for the beachside suburb of Glenelg, Adelaide’s answer to Melbourne’s St Kilda, and had fun perusing the shops and chilling at the beach. Of course we also checked out the city, including the shopping district that is Rundle Mall, the busy and yummy Central Market, the Museum of South Australia, and the Festival Centre (South Australia’s car number plates refer to SA as the festival state, and this is where it all happens).



But the bulk of our time in Adelaide, and probably the most enjoyable part of it, was spent in Port Adelaide. Like Port Melbourne, it has a long esplanade, kite surfers and hip shops along Semaphore Road. It was pot luck that a massive festival was held on Semaphore Road the day after we arrived! When I say massive, I really do mean massive: it went on for kilometers! So we browsed, watched the entertainment and lunched.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb