Heaps Good in Adelaide


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
November 1st 2010
Published: March 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have to admit that I had absolutely no expectations of Adelaide whatsoever but I was surprised at just how much I liked it here.

I met Sarah for a browse around Adelaide's shopping district and we decided to head over to the zoo.

I was initially horrified when I walked into the zoo and saw two women standing at a table with an array of real fur. They looked like they were selling it but I really don't know what they were doing with it and I was a bit too shocked to ask. Hopefully it was some kind of zoo demonstration.

The nicey nicey zoo zoo has two new pandas which you can only view at certain times of the day to acclimatise them to their new home. They were my favourite part of the zoo along with the baby meerkats and the wombat... also known (in my head) as the furry pig. I also discovered that mongoose (what's the plural?) are tiny creatures – who knew?

After the zoo, we went for a wander around the Botanic Gardens which again, were beautiful but in a completely different way to the gardens in the other cities I have visited.

In the evening, I met up for a drink with Mr. Quail and Sarah and discovered that the streets of Adelaide are paved with gold... coins stuck in the concrete (which didn't stop Kev from trying to hatch a plan to force them out.)

A short but sweet visit and Adelaide...I do really like you and hope to come back for one last visit in the summer.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 20; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb