Sharks dont scare me


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
April 26th 2010
Published: April 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I made it to Oz after a 12 hour delay in Singapore due to the Volcano. Its not a bad airport to be stranded in, free cinema, burger king vouchers and $4 massages!

Just finished a 9 day outback tour across the Nullabor from Perth to Adelaide. It was a bit of a shock at first. Day 1 we were introduced to the Long Drop, i have photos to capture the horror but after a few days of bush camping with just a shovel it felt like luxury! Another amazing bunch of fellow travellers and a brilliant tour guide called Agro who was 6ft 6 and just as wide. His spag bol, pancakes and mums chocolate mud cake made him very popular with me. No more cow intestines!

I tried surfing for the first time and managed to get up onto my knees but not quite standing, but i have another 2 months to practice, yay! Also swan with wild dolphins, a pod of 10, including some babies swam with us for 10 minutes. We also swam with sealions and camped in a Koala park where i climbed a tree to get a closer look. Lots of Kangaroo's and emu's everywhere, not had a chance to sample them in burgers yet!

Sandsurfing has to be my favourite activity, shame the walk to the top of the dunes takes about 10 minutes, or i could of had more than a few go's without collapsing!

As for the shark dive, they had not been spotted in the area since march so the dive was called off, was gutted.


Additional photos below
Photos: 96, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



26th April 2010

I enjoyed your Oz post. It looks like you are having fun there. My blog is looking for travel photos and hostel reviews. If you have the time, email us some at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric
26th April 2010

home ties from abroad
Alice, I just love the photos and they do make me a little homesick - the trek across the Nullabor must have been amazing - I only did it by train all those years ago, but your journey is far more comprehensive and you are seeing so much more - can't wait for Sydney!! love Dimity
27th April 2010

Robots in disguise
Does photo 10 transform?
27th April 2010

Photo 56
Photo 56 features a shark-copter
2nd May 2010

Whow
Your photos look amazing. I was just beginning to wonder what it will be like and after my recent experience, dreading it a bit, but now I have seen your amazing photos, I am looking forward to it. Hope we can link up at some point whilst I'm there.
25th May 2010
Photo 44

a good profile pic
I really like this photo! The sheer remoteness of it all

Tot: 0.284s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb