Ice Blocks and Icy Poles


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
February 28th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Doran & AmberDoran & AmberDoran & Amber

give tandem ice blocking a go.
This week we had to take the bus to Flinders Uni on two separate occasions: once for a Mandatory Reporting Meeting (a requirement for child welfare in the state of SA) and again for a field seminar with students from Norway. Both of these visits to Flinders were very exhausting since our cohort has had ongoing difficulties with the faculty and procedures of the Uni.
Amber, Doran and I headed off to Montefiore Hill for some “ice blocking” Saturday. Yes, that’s right-ice blocking. I was introduced to the summer activity in Colorado a couple years ago. A church in the city transported us to the Montefiore Hill so we could give it a go. It was pretty fun except for the part where I almost hit a tree. Fortunately, I was able to maneuver my way off of the block and onto the ground. I enjoyed a relaxing afternoon at the park and a taste of what Aussies call ice blocks/icy poles (popsicles). On our walk over to the Symphony under the Stars we took a quick peek of the Adelaide Oval. The Oval is home to Australia’s finest cricket games. There was actually a wedding party present during our visit. The Symphony under the Stars was fabulous. It was a wonderful night.
Henley Beach was worth returning to on Sunday especially with the Food and Wine Festival located at the jetty. I had another taste of Australia’s freshest seafood-prawns followed by a brief dip into the salt water and a walk along the beach.

Word Bank


Aussies like to reduce words. I think that it has something to do with their laid back style and informal ways.

Footy-Australian Rules Football (AFL) not like our football-there are no helmets or pads and it’s not Rugby.
Gridiron-NFL (US football)
Prezzie-present or gift
Sickie-taking sick leave off of work
Tazzie-Tasmania
Brolly-umbrella
Gorgy-gorgeous
Tellie-television
Cheeky-to give a hard time
Icy Pole or Ice Block-Popsicle
Prawns-shrimp
She’ll be right or she’ll be apples -don’t worry, it will work out

Culture Shock 101



Aussies have a simple and direct approach to others. They tell you exactly the way it is and expect you to do the same. There is no need for detail. They also have a willingness to talk to strangers anywhere and seek your involvement in conversation. This includes playfulness and being cheeky with one another. I have had my fair share! Also, Aussies are never in a hurry!!! Never—there is never a problem with anything-she‘ll be alright!




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



15th July 2005

Wow, I'm surprised!
Hello, I hope you don't mind me commenting here. I googled my name (Doran) to see if I could find anyone else with my name, and was surprised to see how many there are! So hello from another Doran!

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 17; qc: 88; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb