A Weekend of Rest


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
February 21st 2005
Published: February 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

I spent most of last week and weekend resting. Kameron was crook during the week (and still recovering) so we tried to keep our activity level to a minimum especially since it was her birthday. I enjoyed the change of pace and we were able to celebrate Kameron’s birthday with a nice dinner at Bin 272 (or some number like that) on Rundle Street. I had calamari and it was delicious (thanks for reminding me to taste test the fresh seafood here, dad)! I spent Valentines Day making chocolate covered strawberries (the strawberries from Hahndorf with Cadbury’s white chocolate-Cadbury’s is the chocolate of choice here)…just what the doctor, I mean… chemist ordered for Kameron’s sickness. I was also fortunate to have a taste of Hershey Kisses and conversation hearts on Valentines Day. My supervisor had a friend from the states who supplied him with some for the day. I also heard a couple of complaints about Valentines Day. Some are frustrated about Australia’s decision to follow the American way by commercializing the holiday.
Sunday morning I had beautiful cinnamon French toast (you would have enjoyed it Kristy!) at the “Chocolate Bean” with an iced white chocolate drink… followed by an afternoon visit to The Parade. The Parade is an eastern Adelaide suburb. Amber, Doran and I had the unfortunate experience of locating an event recommended in one of our travel guides that no longer exists. We were still able to enjoy the discounted supermarket prices in comparison to the city.
The only other highlights of my week included lots of visits from the mozzies during sleep and the ongoing ritual of waking up to the street sweeper and trash collectors emptying bottles from the bin at 7:30 am in the morning…including Saturdays! Since we are on the subject of noise, I might also mention that the birds here have unique sounds which are pleasant, for the most part.

Word Bank


Mum-mom
The box-television
Thongs-flip flops (okay, so this happens in the states too but when I use the term “flip flops” I get funny looks and remarks)
Swimmers/Bathers-swimsuit
Blokey-guy talk
Fritz-a roll of manufactured meat like salami without the pepper...similar to bolonga
Utes-work utility vehicles equivalent to a truck or SUV
Galah—fool
Show pony-show off with a chip on his shoulder
Brekkie-breakfast
Mozzies-Mosquitoes

Culture Shock 101


1 in 2 Aussies have skin cancer.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb