Adelaide: City of churches


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
January 6th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Adelaide today, and the city's tempo is definitely different than those of Sydney and Melbourne. I like it, and I think I really needed it after all the running around in the big cities. This city is charming and there is no need to rush anywhere. Downtown consists of a huge grid that makes it virtually impossible to get lost. I am staying at the YHA downtown. The main strip is Rundle mall and I spent many hours there just wondering around the crowds and even managed to get a much needed haircut!! I visited Glenelg beach with my relatives on a windy day so I did not go in the water.

I ended up spending a few days in the burbs with my relatives which gave me a different perspective of the city. They also took me on a winery tour ending the day with a BBQ. It was great!

The days that I was here, Adelaide was going through a heat wave. One day, commuter service was interrupted because some of the tram and train rails buckled as a result of the heat. That day we reached 42.1 degrees.

I liked this city. As usual, I went to central market where I found a huge variety of fruits and seafood. There were also a couple of nice latte bars where I just sat, read my paper and enjoyed some really good Java. I left this city on a Quantas plane on my way to Alice Springs---The Red Center!




Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

AdelaideAdelaide
Adelaide

Lunch with the family: Huge Seafood platters.
AdelaideAdelaide
Adelaide

Yummy!
AdelaideAdelaide
Adelaide

Family BBQ.
AdelaideAdelaide
Adelaide

Harriet, what a cutie!
AdelaideAdelaide
Adelaide

Andy is simply tireless!
Whispering wallWhispering wall
Whispering wall

Day trip to wineries
AdelaideAdelaide
Adelaide

This is the city's central market. I love visiting markets. There you get to see the real heart of a city.
AdelaideAdelaide
Adelaide

Botanical Gardens. Every city in Australia has one. It is such a great idea. Why can't we have one in TO? :(
Botanical GardensBotanical Gardens
Botanical Gardens

The plaque before this Red River Gum Tree (Eucalyptus) says that this fossil tree is 2,500 years old.
Botanical GardensBotanical Gardens
Botanical Gardens

I came to the botanical gardens seeking refuge from the 40+ heat!
Botanical GardensBotanical Gardens
Botanical Gardens

Gigantic Water Lilies!
AdelaideAdelaide
Adelaide

The sign says that the pond will not be filled with water due to the severe drought affecting most of Australia. There is a real concerted effort in all cities to advise the public to always conserve water.
AdelaideAdelaide
Adelaide

Taking a break from the heat at the hostel. Coopper's pale ale is definitely one of the best beers I tasted there.
AdelaideAdelaide
Adelaide

Pulga (Spanish for flea) changing into god's know what!
AdelaideAdelaide
Adelaide

On a Quantas plane having a morning snack. I am leaving Adelaide and flying to Alice Springs.


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb