Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
January 3rd 2008
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MelbourneMelbourneMelbourne

When I arrived in ST. Kilda, I went straight to the beach a snapped a couple of pics at 7 am.
So I left Sydney on January 2nd on an overnight bus to Melbourne city. I arrived at 6 am and headed to St. Kilda base backpackers hostel. This neighborhood is about 20 mins. away from Melbourne but it is right on the beach.

I spent the next three days there exploring the city. Melbourne is absolutely a gem. I love it. There are nice coffee houses with the best lattes and pastry that I've had for a long time. The downtown core is buzzing with shops, trams, shoppers, cafes, and a nice wine bars.

I had the opportunity of going up the Eureka tower, the tallest building in the southern hemisphere, 88 floors. From there the view was spectacular!!! Melbourne is also a stop in the tennis grand slam which will start the second week of January. Melbourne is also where they have the grand prix race. But by far the most followed sport is Australian football. Too bad the season ended about two months ago. Otherwise, I would have loved to watch a game.

For the moment though, it is cricket that dominates the sport channels. Just the other day, Australia played India in one of the
MelbourneMelbourneMelbourne

Luis getting ready to go to bus station to catch an overnight bus Sydney-Melbourne.
test matches and the whole city stopped for the afternoon. All the pubs were packed. Of course, as the good adage says, when in Rome... so walked into a pub and watch a bit of the game. It was a great idea becase it was 40 degrees outside. All three days that I was here, the mercury was over 35 degrees. The whole southern part of Australia was going through a heat wave while I was there.

One of the places I loved the most in this city was its central market. I ended up walking around the different food, produce, meat and seafood stalls and bought the freshest prawns that I took to a park next to it and had a nice picnic under the shade of a Gum (Eucalyptus) tree. I also bought some passion fruit and a huge mango as desert. Lovely!!! I need to come back to this wonderful city!!!! For anyone coming here, I need to tell you that the best street for restaurants is Lygon st. It is the heart of the Italian quarter and it is a real treat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Packed bus station. This is January 2nd, and everyone was leaving Sydney to start their traveling again. All hostels had a minimum 7 or 9 day stay that meant that if you wanted to stay in Sydney for the NYE celebrations, you also most likely had to stay here until January 2nd.
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Southern Star coach and train station. This is an impressive building.
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Public art.
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Flinders station
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

t. Kilda's boardwalk.
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

View from Eureka Building
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

The Mighty Yarra river
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

More spectacular views
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

More...
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

one more...
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Central Market
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Watermelon, yummy!!
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

These lobsters were gigantic!
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

My lunch and desert. I paid $10 for a tray full of prawns. A steal!
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Central Market
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Central Market
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Central Market. These lobsters a gigantic, compare to regular size lobsters on the background.
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Half and hour before it closes, you can get some real bargains. All trays in this picture are $10 AUD.
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

One of my favorite stops in the market.
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

I am leaving Melbourne on another overnight bus to Adelaide where I will visit relatives.


9th January 2008

Awesome!
Hey Luis, Looks like you are having an awesome time! Better not be too awesome though that you don't want to come back! hahahahaha Everyone on the Board says hi! I look forward to the days you post your blog and the pictures are amazing! Keep it up! Have a great time Dana
11th January 2008

Wow!!
Hey, your pics are great. I am really glad you have this travel blog to share with us, but of course with envey. What, you forgot the sunscreen. Enjoy all of what you can, while we work our buts off. Take care.
11th January 2008

LUNCH!!!
Ohh my god! only $10.00 bucks! for the prawns? and passion fruit! wow!! what a nice pic-nic! sr

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb